Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
It was terrible on my first try cause i over cooked the beets. Second attempt was excellent though :-) so my advice is to watch the beets ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
YUM! A great hearty, tummy warming soup for cold winter nights! I disagree with earlier reviews...the added ground pork does NOT make it greasy. Used Beef Broth instead of water to up flavor. Added dill as suggested by others to pump up flavor too! Served with Perogies for a VERY well liked meal. my family of 5 (three young kids) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I've had borscht only a couple of times and loved it. I actually like beets. But the tomato in this recipe completely overpowers the beets. Won't be making this again. Full disclosure: I'm vegetarian and omitted the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is the third time I made this soup, I don't ever get sick of having the leftovers for lunch all week. I just chop up all the veggies instead of grating them to make life easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I come from a Ukrainian family and grew up hating red borscht until I grew older. The first time I made it, I was already living in Austria with my husband and kids. I decided to whip it up; going on my memories, and it was a huge hit. So much so, it's become one of our fall-backs. Traditionalists will cringe when I say this: I add Tabasco to mine; a bit of balsamic vinegar and tomato juice. Why the Tabasco? At Christmastime, red borscht is a staple dish, along with mushroom-filled "Vushka" or ravioli. There is always one in the batch that is filled with black pepper instead of mushrooms. The Vushka are then used, like dumplings, in the borscht. The one to bite into the one filled with black pepper, is the winner of all that year's luck. :-) I have had -- in my 43 years -- my share of the black pepper Vushkas. To be honest, I can't imagine a borscht without a kick. That's actually when I really started liking it... Maybe I'm Mexican, really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This is a great recipe!! I recommend it to anyone just as it is.To make it more like my Mother"s recipe, I cooked and added a cup of dry white kidney beans,4 tbsp fresh Dill,juice of a half lemon,2 tbsp Balsamic vinegar,and 4 Bay leaves.I would have added some beet kvas ,as that would have added some nice tartness, but you have to make that a month ahead of time. This would partner perfectly with Potato Varenyky( aka Pierogi)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
My Husband family is Ukraine, I have been making Boorsh for years, but lost my recipe-This iss not much like the classic recipt. I made a few changes.1st used pork from a roast-about a cup-cut up in small pieces[pork sausage are to greasy] make sure you cut of the fat. you do NOT need sugar. you need an can of pork N Beans. when cooking the beets should only be added for the last 10 mins, also need dill to taste-Anne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Great recipe. I par-boiled the beets for half-an-hour then peeled them under cold water (avoiding staining everything, including myself, red)... Saving the boiling liquid as the base for the soup. I cut the beets up the same size as the pototoes and carrots. I omitted the grated cabbage and canned tomatoes. To avoid adding extra sugar, a tablespoon of balsalmic vinegar to the tomato paste/onions worked really well. Season with salt and pepper generously. This recipe was a really good base for making an excellent borscht!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is a good start, but I definitely made some alterations. I used no meat. I boiled the beets in enough water to cover them for about 10 minutes to make them easier to peel. Then I kept about half of the water which was already a rich magenta and replaced the rest with beef broth. I also added some chopped beet stems and leaves which increased the beet flavor. I upped the quantity of fresh dill throughout the process. I added garlic powder and a dash of cumin and oregano and skipped the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
My grandma was a native of the Ukraine, and this is the borscht that she made, minus the sugar and parsley. I suppose it's like anywhere else in the world where there are differing versions of the same dish according to the region and the chef. It was plenty close though, so this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinderelly007

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States