Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
My Husband family is Ukraine, I have been making Boorsh for years, but lost my recipe-This iss not much like the classic recipt. I made a few changes.1st used pork from a roast-about a cup-cut up in small pieces[pork sausage are to greasy] make sure you cut of the fat. you do NOT need sugar. you need an can of pork N Beans. when cooking the beets should only be added for the last 10 mins, also need dill to taste-Anne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Great recipe. I par-boiled the beets for half-an-hour then peeled them under cold water (avoiding staining everything, including myself, red)... Saving the boiling liquid as the base for the soup. I cut the beets up the same size as the pototoes and carrots. I omitted the grated cabbage and canned tomatoes. To avoid adding extra sugar, a tablespoon of balsalmic vinegar to the tomato paste/onions worked really well. Season with salt and pepper generously. This recipe was a really good base for making an excellent borscht!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is a good start, but I definitely made some alterations. I used no meat. I boiled the beets in enough water to cover them for about 10 minutes to make them easier to peel. Then I kept about half of the water which was already a rich magenta and replaced the rest with beef broth. I also added some chopped beet stems and leaves which increased the beet flavor. I upped the quantity of fresh dill throughout the process. I added garlic powder and a dash of cumin and oregano and skipped the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
My grandma was a native of the Ukraine, and this is the borscht that she made, minus the sugar and parsley. I suppose it's like anywhere else in the world where there are differing versions of the same dish according to the region and the chef. It was plenty close though, so this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinderelly007

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This was my first try at borscht and my whole family loved it! I roasted the beets in the oven in foil with olive oil, salt, pepper, and thyme. Then I skinned them and grated them. Then i used 8 cups of beef stock and used dill instead of parsley. I used a jar of red pickled cabbage instead of fresh, honey instead of sugar.Plenty out flavor! Well definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Fantastic! I assumed that the beets would need to be cooked and peeled before I started and did so before reading the recipe. It was way easier to peel this way I think and worked fine when I added them with the potatoes and carrots. I forgot the sugar and I don't think it was needed and I doubled the garlic which I think was awesome! I also didn't shred anything...just chopped. Will surely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Excellent! I've made this vegan once and once with pork sausage and I absolutely prefer VEGAN. Great use of fall/winter vegetables. Substituted vegetable broth/bouillon for the water for extra flavor and next time will throw in a couple more potatoes. Huge hit with the boyfriend and his fam :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Good and healthy soup. I did it without sausage. Next time I will add some spices to give more taste. I also shredded the vegetable too much. Next time I will just cut them in chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Very good soup! Than goodness for a food processor! I followed some of the other reviews and added the chicken bouillon and only half the tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This soup is FANTASTIC. I too left out the sausage - I also added almost a liter of veggie stock in addition to the water called for. After my husband and I ate some in its rustic, chunky state, I decided to blend up the left overs. That's how you take something rustic and make it chic! It has an amazing smell and texture and is completely addictive as a smooth soup! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States