Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Overall a good recipe. I followed the advice of another reviewer and boiled my beets for ~1hr before dicing, and then saved the water to use in the soup. I accidentally added too much water, beware because it is easy to dilute the flavor. Didn't need sugar at all! And after adding LOTS of dill and letting the soup sit in the fridge overnight, the flavor the next day was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Tastes great!!! Very good soup for a cold day. I may try adding a little more water or some chicken broth because it came out more like a stew then a soup. Great anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I have made this several times now and it is the most delicious and easy borscht I have ever had/made. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I lived in Russia for a couple of years and this is pretty close to authentic. I've never had borscht with sausage though, only ever with beef. I will probably make it with less tomato paste next time, as it was a little too tomato-y for me. Also, try it with a dollop of mayo instead of sour cream. We ate it that way in Russia all the time and it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This is delicious and the fact that it is loaded with nutrition is even better! I like a more chunky soup so I cubed the beets instead of shredding them, but other than that I followed the recipe to a 't'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janneke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Very good recipe. I used beef short ribs and added some beef broth. I grated the veggies for uniformity. No need for the sugar. I added 1 T vinegar for that very subtle sweet and sour effect. My family loved it served with fresh bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
What an amazing soup! I made a few changes to it though and think it still came out beautifully. Instead of using pork sausage, I used about 6-8 slices of bacon (chopped) and a half pound of ground beef. This gave it a wonderful smoky flavor and reminded me of my grandmother's recipe. Also, I didn't add any of the tomato paste or canned tomatoes. I felt that the beet flavor would be more distinguished this way. Will absolutely make it again, my husband won't stop talking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mymushypeas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Superb! I also omitted the meat ingredient. Lots and lots of dill really helps to bring out the borscht flavours, in my opinion. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
though this was simple and very tasty. Used tomatoe soup because i had no paste and i added 1 tsp. of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Really good. I didn't think the beet flavor was very strong, which was a plus for those who I made it for, but if I were going to make it again for myself, I'd add some more beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States