Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I never recalled my mothers Borscht recipe like this, not even close. I remember it as the juice off of a boiled ham,not the meat, 4-5 beets, 1-2 onions quartered, can of whole tomatoes, and just before it was done we added cream slowly so it wouldn't curdle and maybe salt or pepper at the table if you wanted. That is why my parents said the saying "cheap like borscht" came from! There was nothing in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This is a pretty good recipe that I use as a starting point for my borsch. I made a few changes. I don't use pork. I did add a little bit of sirloin in the bottom for my husband though. I added about 1 and a half bullion cubes to the water and added 2 more secret ingredients... It sounds gross, but I always add a little bit of ketchup and tabasco sauce. I think it takes it to the next level by adding a little more sweetness while also cutting the sweetness. Instead of parsley- I use a ton of dill, which is more traditional. I get a beautiful red color to it, and love to take it in my lunch for work with some smetana (sour cream)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBirman
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This recipe was delicious! Very similar to my mother-in-law's whose borscht is notorious as "best in town". This was my first time making it so would have liked a bit more detail ie. how long approx it would take for the color to cook out of the beets (about 50 mins) but otherwise good! I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBirman

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
So good. I followed the recipe as is and it was everything I hoped it would be. I'm not a borscht expert...just had it once before and loved it. I loved this just as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I loved this recipe and gave it too friends who also raved about it. I had lots of produce from my CSA that I needed to use. The only thing I had to buy to complete this was the sausage. A great way to use all of the produce I had on hand. I'm making it again today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I tried to follow the recipe closely, with the exception of using pork back ribs, which I cooked first then took off the bones and added to the soup. I also gently cooked the beets, skin on, before peeling and shredding and I used the deep red cooking water as the base for the broth. I added about two tablespoons of red wine vinegar as well, which I think is essential. Otherwise followed the recipe. It was good the first day, even better the next. My kids loved it! I will use this recipe again. Might try using beef shank and beef broth next time. Great recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This reminded me off my grandmother's borscht. Since I no longer eat meat, I used vegetable broth instead of half the water, and omitted the meat. I didn't think my grandmother used garlic in her recipe, so I omitted that as well. I also added a generous handful of fresh, chopped dill at the end and left out the parsley. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
DELICIOUS! I doubled this recipe because I had lots of veggies on hand (thank god I used my huge stock pot). I omitted the sausage, used red cabbage (that's what I had in the fridge), and added 2 packages of chicken stock (the concentrated kind that's sort of a jelly texture). Served it with sour cream and fresh dill on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
The amount of tomato paste and carrots obliterates the beets, and its not especially appetizing in its overall look. Complete bait and switch and waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I didn't add the pork but did pretty much everything else the same. Quite good,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimée Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States