Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Loved it, made enough to freeze and it was wonderful heated up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
We just had this for Sunday dinner with a little wine and fresh bread. This was colorful,full flavored with interesting textures and we are going to have this again. Your friends relatives probably woun't mind that I doubled the organic garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I also grew up in Ukraine there is no sugar added. The shredded beets should be added for the last 10 -15 minutes otherwise you will have brown borscht. Also add vinegar at the time you add the beets this will keep the color. Now you will have a nice tangy borscht.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
My name tells you who I am. Whats missing here is; A "BAY LEAF" take out before serving. Also add a few tablespoons of white vinegar to help kill the grease and to mix in sour cream to make that "Royal Beet Soup" Also you may add cut green beans.Use pork ribs, ribletes instaed of sausage. Dont gorget to add washed beet leaves chopped up. Now you got authentic Borscht.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NINJETTE
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Love the recipe. We don't use parsley for garnish, but add fresh dill to the soup, and on top of the sour cream as garnish if there is any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vvanke
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I did not change a thing about this recipe. Absolutely delicious. It is perfect for these cold winter months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I doubled it because I usually double recipes, but I filled two family-sized pots and ended up eating borscht for almost three weeks! It tastes way better with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I omitted the sausage and added in some vegetable stock. I added 3 tbsp of fresh dill and 2 tbsp of apple cider vinegar at the end. Exciting flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buddingchef

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Very comforting dish! I used only 3 sausages and bought pre-shredded cabbage. Didn't think to get the pre-shredded carrots, that would have helped! For my pot I added about 2 tablespoons of salt (this was about perfect).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Walkerton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
My spouse loved this soup so I gave it 4 stars. He loved the sausage & tomato in the Borscht. While I enjoyed it too, I prefer a borscht that tastes more like beets. Made the recipe exactly as stated - we both thought it needed more salt. Next time I may use a beef or chicken broth base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laur3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States