Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
For extra flavor add 1 half gallon apple juice and 1 half gallon cranberry juice,(or 1 gallon Ocean Spray CranApple juice) around 10 whole cloves, black pepper (to taste, but be careful), and brown sugar (2 cups packed) Also, by adding additional liquids (cranberry and apple juice) it is important to add an addotional cup of salt (2 total) Replace the ice water with 1 gallon water straight from the faucet. Boil all ingredients until the salt and sugar are completely dissolved and the cloves are releasing their oils. Remove from heat and let completely cool before brining the turkey. Also, with a strainer, remove the whole cloves before brining or you may find yourself biting into a clove which is not pleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dean Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
this brine is amazing, I never seem to have the dried herbs so I use ground and it seems to work fine. I have thrown in some brown sugar to add something sweet. I have been doing this brine for the past 2 years and I am blown away that the turkey never comes out dry or overly salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This is so worth the extra time it takes! AMAZING flavors, but most of all - moist! You will never make another turkey without brine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotrod

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This brine worked so well! My turkey was so juicy!! Only complaint: The drippings were so salty, I couldn't use them to make gravy it was that salty, so I'm glad I had picked up a packet to make gravy, cause "scratch" gravy wasn't happening. But I will for sure use this brine again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Brining is a great way to cook a turkey. My nephew hates turkey but he loves mine and asks for seconds. It's juicier than deep frying and more flavorful. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Made this brine for smoking turkey legs and thighs.The flavor and tenderness was outstanding!! Very simple to make and a must for smoking turkey. Soaked the pieces for 4 hours and they came out great. I did add 3 tablespoons of minced garlic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I didn't have Savory, but it was excellent anyway. I put my 13.75 lbs Turkey in a roaster at 325 degrees before Church Easter Sunday. Two hours later when we returned it was done. Also, I did throw it in a 425 degree oven for 15 minutes just to brown the skin. I'm going to do all my turkeys this way. So easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This makes a very juicy and flavorful turkey! I made it with a bone-in turkey breast and marinated it in a Ziploc L bag. They are food safe and much cheaper than a brining bag, $1 per bag verses $6. Low sodium broth and 1/3 cup of salt was plenty for us, however, I did half all of the other ingredients because a bone-in breast weighs about half as much as a full turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I have used this every Thanksgiving and Christmas for the past 3 years for rave reviews. My parties have gone from 3 to 18 guests. I will always brine my turkeys and will always use this brine. THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My Three Sons

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 715) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States