Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I used this recipe for Thanksgiving two years ago and won't use anything else. As another subscriber suggested, I substituted apple cider for about half of the water and that lends a great flavor to the meat and the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This is an excellent recipe for brining a turkey. My family loves the tenderness and moistness of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This recipe was my first attempt at brining.I have used this brine also for the last 3 Thanksgivings; did not change a thing for a 14lb bird, except used anothers advice and used half gallon of apple juice and cooked it in a countertop roaster. The bird literally has fallen apart(splt at the dressing) as we try to take out of the roaster. I will never use another. My guest always rave about my turkey days later... Thank you SO much for such an easy and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I've never care for the turkey on thanksgiving because it's so dry and plain no matter what seasoning I've used. I would always just go for the ham every thanksgiving since it's more flavorful, but last year I decided to brine my turkey using this recipe and all I can say is "OMG!!!!". The turkey turned out super, SUPER juicy and FAB!! I didn't even care for the ham that year. Here's what I did, I couldn't find any gallon vegetable broth so I used plain water(it was still great & juicy!!). I omitted the dried sage & savory, since I never have these 2 ingredients on hand. This year, I am doing the same thing again! Love it! Thank you for such a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This will be the third year I have used this recipe! All I have to say is superb and will continue to use this recipe for years to come. Makes the juiciest turkey I have ever tasted or cooked, and I have cooked plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Made the brine last year for our Thanksgiving turkey and it was the most moist, delicious turkey I've ever made. Even the left overs remained moist. I'll be using this brine for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I will never roast a turkey without a brine. This is an easy, basic brine. It will ensure a juicy, flavorful bird! Brining drastically shortens oven time... Use a good meat thermometer to indicate doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Getting back to the turkey brine..... I posted a note before Thanksgiving stating I was going to alter the salt portion of the recipe, which I did. It was helpful to use the 33% less sodium broth and I decreased the sea salt by 1/4 cup leaving a full 3/4 cup of salt to be used. So here's what happened.... The turkey was doing great however I made the mistake of not putting a thermometer in the old bird. I planned to cook the turkey for about 4 hours. Well at the 3 hour mark it was at 180 degrees.... Holy you know what!!!!! Someone turned up the temp without telling me and because I wasn't diligent about checking on the bird she heated up way to fast. I pulled the turkey out and finished cooking everything else and had to "slightly" reheat the bird due to it setting out too long..... I thought I really messed things up. If it wasn't for the brine I think it would have been a disaster. The bird was still moist and turned out pretty good despite the mishap. It would have been much better had I kept an eye on it as well as the temp. There is no doubt it would have been much better. So the moral of the story is to brine for sure, use a thermometer (digital) and keep watch over the oven and the cargo inside. The brine definitely cooks the turkey a bit faster. My target temp was 160 degrees but over shot that a bit I'd say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cspahn
Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
My third year using this recipe! Be careful roasting as it will cook much quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Nally

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I've used this recipe three times now and love it! I passed it on to my mom and sister-in-law and they both use it now! I was reading the negative comments and I believe you honestly either had a bad turkey or didn't follow the directions properly because I have everyone rave about my turkey since I started making it like this! I stuff my turkey and make gravy out of the drippings and it is all amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 717) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States