Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
The best ever except I used chicken stock, and didn't refrigerate overnight. Cooked for 90minutes 13lbs. Turkey added ctr a seasoning to the top by brushing on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I cooked one of my best turkeys using this brine recipe for Thanksgiving this year. I brined it overnight, used some of the brining solution in the bottom of the pan, and put apricot jam under the skin of my turkey. I roasted breast-side down and flipped the bird two-thirds through the cooking process. My turkey was unstuffed. I used the brine in the bottom of the pan to baste the turkey every 30-45 minutes. Turned out fantastic! To keep things simple, I also roasted potatoes, carrots, pearl onions, and brussel sprouts rather than making the myriad of traditional recipes which my family doesn't care for, and served with a simple salad of greens, grapes, and pommegranites dressed with poppyseed dressing. Cranberry sauce by TJs and gravy made with a roux of butter and flour plus all the defatted and deglazed turkey drippings with a touch of white wine. Followed up with a homemade pumpkin pie. It's been requested for an apple pie in addition to all of this next year! Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Great recipe and super easy to make. As another user points out, round drink coolers similar to those you might see on the sidelines at sporting events are perfect for the brine, almost if they were made specifically for the purpose. Food grade plastic and very easy to clean-up. The flavor imparted by the brine is mild yet distinct and not the least bit salty. Even the driest portions of breast meat come out moist and tender. I did as other users suggested and used 1/2 gal. vegetable broth and 1/2 gallon apple juice with great results. This recipe is a definite keeper and one I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I've used this recipe the last 4 years and it's fantastic. After cleaning and drying we fill the cavity with lemon and fresh thyme, rosemary, sage. 22-23 lb turkey cooks at 350 for 2:45 in an oven bag and is perfectly done, not dry. The drippings make great gravy, we didn't think it was too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Pohanka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made this for my thanksgiving and i have no regrets!!! It came out delicious! I used it for a 22 pound bird and I made the vegetable broth with the cubes. It was amazingly juicy, moist, and delectable.I will recommend this to others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natasha C
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I have never brined a turkey before, but this brine recipe was amazing. Everyone is still talking about my turkey :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Idie
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This is the first time I ever brined a turkey. This recipe was very simple and the turkey was delicious!! I highly recommend this !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
awesome!! makes turkey so moist!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I LOVE THIS RECIPE! I followed the suggestion of half apple juice-half vegetable broth. I use the unsalted vegetable broth. This will be my third or fourth year using this recipe. I stuff the inside of the turkey with slices of apples, oranges, celery and onion prior to cooking. Makes for a beautiful and very flavorful bird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is a great brine! I added 2 lemons and 2 oranges cut into 1/8 pieces, squeezed and dropped in with all the other ingredients. I've used this brine for the past 3 years! I also wash out a large cooler to brine the turkey in and stay away from plastic bags. Another great tip, if I may, is to cook the turkey breast side down for at least the first 1-2 hours. I know it's unconventional but the gravity sends the juices right to the breats when it's breast down to start!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 750) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States