Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I doubled this recipe because I had a huge turkey and wanted to make sure that I had enough to fully immerse the turkey in the brine. I used a storage box, but purchased a big food safe plastic bag, and put the brine, including the iced water, in the plastic bag, and set it in the box, which had a secured lid. Then, I put the whole thing on the deck on a below freezing night and the brine did not freeze. This worked very well, though I was initially concerned that the the brine may not all fit in the bag. Be careful when removing the turkey. The bottom of the bag busted as I removed the turkey and I had a real mess on my hands. The turkey flavor was moist and delicious. Turning such a huge turkey is NOT easy. I actually tore the turkey a bit when turning it because the meat was so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I'm a beginner cook. 1st time cooking for family. 1st recipe that I used from AllRecipes.COM. I shopped at the last minute and couldn't find a fresh turkey so I purchased two 6-7 pound roasting chickens. This was without question the moisted bird I have ever cooked. Wife complained it was too bland but the rest of my family really enjoyed. I look forward to using this recipe on a turkey as it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This brine helped me to make the best turkey I have ever made. Soooooo juicy. I'll never go back to roasting without brining first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
My turkeys were so moist and tasty with this brine recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hastings, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I had never brined a turkey, but decided to give it a try this Thanksgiving. Best cooking decision I have ever made! Not only was it easy, but that was the best turkey I have ever made. My family is still talking about it and now want me to make one for Christmas! Other reviews talk about how great the gravy tastes and they weren't lying! Use this recipe with confidence!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Used this for our turkey and will be using it for a chicken as well. The gravy was amazing and the meat was the best we have ever had. There were no left-overs this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmay6

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
We made some minor modifications, or major I guess :) We did kosher salt rub, 3 cans chicken broth, used a turkey baking bag for overnight. The next morning we patted dry, bathed in butter. This is by far one of the yummiest turkeys ever, but warning: my 17 lb turkey cooked in 2.5 hours! One hour faster then it was suppose to, not sure why but I thought I'd share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AutumnGully

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was by far the juiciest and most flavorful turkey I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Makes the turkey super moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Brining works great, this is a fantastic recipe. We brine and serve 3 turkeys at Thanksgiving, each with a different recipe. This one hit our top 10. We found a great container this year that made brining really easy. It's called The Briner, you can find it on line. It worked really well, trapping the birds below the brine surface. And we didn't use a heavy bowl to weigh it down! I recommend this piece of food equipment to anyone who enjoys bringing, it's a must have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 723) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Turkey Brine

This brine infuses your bird with flavor and makes it moist.

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Brine a Turkey

Discover the surprisingly simple secret to juicy, flavorful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States