Turducken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
I'm (originally) from Southwest Louisiana and this is a REAL recipe. Very good. Tried introducing it to my new home in Virginia, they thought it was odd, but liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This is WONDERFUL! I am from Louisiana, and have had these before, but never actually made one myself. It does make it easier to buy the turkey, chicken and duck already deboned. Then you can make this your own recipe by using your favorite stuffing and spices, though it is hard to beat the original cajun spices. Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I made a practice round of this a couple weeks ago and its amazing! My sister in law always makes it and we are having it for Thanksgiving!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
I to am from Southwest Louisiana, and it is a real recipe, and quite good I might add. We have one every Christmas. Give it a chance, I know it sounds strange- but it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DON JANE
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
I made turducken for Xmas last year and it was a Big Hit. It was a lot of work making 3 kinds of stuffing - This year I'm going to use the sausage & oyster stuffing only. I also left the bone in the Turkey drumstick and the entire wing - By leaving the bone in the leg & wing, the creation looked just like a regular Turkey. In my opinion " TURDUCKEN " is worth the work - the floavour is Fabulous !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
we made this recipe at christmas at the request of our teenage sons. it was a huge hit! i left the birds just barely frozen when i started, it was easier to debone them. i only removed the main cavity bones from all the birds and left the legs and wing bones in place, it was so much easier and turned out fine. make sure you have an extra set of hands after stuffing the birds to pull them all together and put them in the roasting pan. our teenagers have already asked to have this one made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hastings, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I tried this recipe for the first time on Thankgiving. It was a big hit. It is very tasty. The seasoning from the stuffing seeps into the meat for a great taste. I used three different stuffings for a different taste. This recipe is a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Used 4# chicken 6# duck 24# turkey. Remove lot of the chicken skin duck fat/skin. Leave the wings &legs bones in the turkey for show. Made 3 diff stuffings POTATO STUFFING(boiled mashed taters~5#-1 stick butter-6 eggs-6-8 stalks celary chopped-1-1.5 bags of bread cubes-S&P) BREAD STUFFING(1 lg can broth-1 med onion chopped-7 stalks celary chopped-poultry seasoning- boil -pour over 2 loaves torn up bread-S&P) RICE STUFFING(2 boxes U Ben's Wild and Long Grain Rice-4.5 C Broth-Shredded carrots-Chopped celary-small onion chopped-poultry seasoning to taste-2 small pkgs of dried cranberries). Work on lg cookie sheet-Start with S&P both sides each bird -turkey put small amt layer potato on the turkey. duck and place on turkey. add sm amt rice on duck. Put chicken on duck & add sm amt bread. Fold each bird up around & someone tress up bird w/ cooking twine. put the roaster over the bird and flip everything over birdzilla is now breast side up in roaster. Roast covered @ 325F ~5-6 hrs (or til internal temp of chicken stuffing is 165F) place 4 metal skewers into center of chicken help conduct heat. Make sure you check bird every hrs or so & remove excess liquid in pan or it will boil/fry. Take foil off pan to brown the bird &replace if needed to finish cooking. Ours took 5 hrs and was completely cook. We did not baste it &it came out very juicy and moist. Let the bird sit at room temp for an hour. Tasted fantastic & even the left over white meat was moist and delicious days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I'm from the south and have had this MANY times, it's awesome. It's hard work, but WELL worth it. you can also make this ahead and freeze it. I've doubled the stuffing recipe and stuffed two turduckens (you can also put a cornish hen in the chicken if you're feelin' feisty.) Roast one and put one in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
5 Stars for the fortitude to fool around with this much work! I am from LA, (that's our toungue in cheek shorthand for Lower Alabama) not far from cajun country. Yes, it's a real recipe and in the past few years they have been starting to sell them commercially in the grocery stores. They are already deboned, stuffed and trussed together,frozen and ready to cook. High interest in them has been slow coming, I tossed around the idea of making one for this Thanksgiving and, whoa buddy, they are $50 at Walmart! No doubt though buying the 3 birds, dressing ingredients, and then putting it all together is probably worth every penny. I just had to read this recipe to see what kind of a project it would be to actually make your own. No, thanks. I can't imagine deboning the 3 birds and making one dressing, let alone 3! But maybe someday I will feel rich enough to spring for a store bought one and try it. Plain old Tom Turkey and all the trimmings again this year, much cheaper, much less work! Still gonna be a great Turkey Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turducken

Here it is! Chicken inside a duck, inside a turkey, with savory stuffing.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States