Tropical Salad with Pineapple Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I loved this recipe (with some additions from the comments) - I reduced the oil, increased the juice, used rice wine vinegar, added the garlic and ginger and some sugar for the dressing - ABSOLUTELY necessary additions or else you're basically just pouring juice on your salad. - I also included red peppers in the salad and it was a HUGE hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
I just served this to a party of 100 for a Hawaiian Luau. Lots of people asked for the recipe and said this was delicious. I made some changes to the vinaigrette. I used Rice Wine Vinegar instead of Red Wine Vinegar and added fresh ginger and garlic to the dressing to add depth to the taste. Also added a little sugar to balance the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
I made this recipe for my gourmet group in which I was doing a Luau theme. Everyone loved it. I made several changes, though. I increased the pineapple juice to 1/2 cup and used extra (fresh only!!!) cutup pineapple on each individual plate. For presentation, I also used some star fruit on each plate (looks pretty and adds more color). Also, I decreased the onion to 2, and upped the coconut to 1/2 cup. I really wanted to bring out the tropical flavors of this recipe. I would definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
Great salad! Such a delicious combination. I used ready-made real bacon bits and they worked fine. Upped the amount of pineapple juice because I wanted more of that flavor. Also used canned pineapple tidbits. By using the canned pineapple and precooked bacon, I saved a ton of time. Also, used macadamia nuts (they were salted so I rinsed them off because toasting. My daughter liked it as well even though she doesn't like coconut. I have made tons of salads using various fruits but never have dabbled with pineapple in this kind of combination. This is my new favorite and I am going to say the best salad I have ever had in my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
What a great salad! We loved it, even kids, and will make again. I omitted the bacon (didn't have any), increased the pineapple juice to 1/2 cup as suggested, and had to use the sugar-coated almonds rather than the macadamias. The toasted coconut is so good on this salad! Thanks, Marianne! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
LOVED this salad! All the flavors came together and made for a very elegant, yet tropical salad. Once the dressing goes on, you have to eat it - the leftovers became soggy overnight. Eat what you make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
At first I wasn't sure if anyone would like this different salad. However, it was a hit at a luau I attended. It's even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
This was a really tastey, light, and easy salad to make. I'm always looking for more salad recipes that encorporate fruit and greens. Everyone liked it. I had some butter lettuce, and baby spinach on hand, so I mixed that in with the romaine lettuce, and it made for a nice salad mix. Makes a bit too much dressing for the size of the salad, but there was absolutely nothing wrong with the taste! It will be something I make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
This is a great salad.I did'nt change a thing. Even my 3 year old nephew ate 3 servings of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
I added sugar to make it sweet and added raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States