Tropical Salad with Pineapple Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2001
A yummy salad!! I tried this recipe last week, and I'm making it again to take to our family potluck for Easter. Quick and easy to throw together and great flavors. I did use almonds instead of the macadamia nuts, to cut cost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
Fantastic! Made it for a baby shower and it was a huge hit. It was so easy to make and has the best tasting vinaigrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2001
I tried this recipe for my supper club. Everyone enjoyed it. I found it fairly simple to make. It does take a little time to toast the nuts and coconut. I also used canned pineapple. I would make it again, however I would decrease the amount of juice in the recipe. C. Williams
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
I made this recipe for my gourmet group in which I was doing a Luau theme. Everyone loved it. I made several changes, though. I increased the pineapple juice to 1/2 cup and used extra (fresh only!!!) cutup pineapple on each individual plate. For presentation, I also used some star fruit on each plate (looks pretty and adds more color). Also, I decreased the onion to 2, and upped the coconut to 1/2 cup. I really wanted to bring out the tropical flavors of this recipe. I would definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2001
I was a little bit skeptical at first, but the flavors blend beautifully. What a way to complement my fresh, farm-bought greens! The bacon is essential, but vegetarians don't have to lose out: meat-free bacon "substitutes" add similar depth to the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2002
Once again my hubby is not one for fruit in his greens but he had to admit that this salad is superior. A perfect combination of flavors with salad ingredients and dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvinlif2k

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
This was a really tastey, light, and easy salad to make. I'm always looking for more salad recipes that encorporate fruit and greens. Everyone liked it. I had some butter lettuce, and baby spinach on hand, so I mixed that in with the romaine lettuce, and it made for a nice salad mix. Makes a bit too much dressing for the size of the salad, but there was absolutely nothing wrong with the taste! It will be something I make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
I also added avocado. Nice alternative salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
I made this for our Rally day at church. Everyone loved it. I doubled the recipe, toasted whole almonds that I chopped up, used canned in its own juice pineapple, fried up real bacon and added 2 teaspoons of sugar to the vinegette as I had used the juice from the canned pineapple. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
I had a lot of fun making this and my girlfriends really enjoyed the tropical taste! A bit time consuming to make, but worth it in the end. Definitely a great alternative salad for the summer. Especially good with fresh pineapple--I added extra coconut to really bring out the tropical flavors. Woudl most definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States