Tropical Salad with Pineapple Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Love this salad, this recipe is a keeper. I used the fresh pineapple but I grilled it before chopping and adding to the salad, if you've never ate grilled fruit you will be surprised at the flavor enhancement. I also cut the oil in half for the dressing. I served this with my ever so famous Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ore City, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Absolutely yummy! I made this as the recipe stated, other than subbing red onions for green (because I didn't have any) and toasted pecans for the macadamia nuts. This was fantastic!! The dressing with all that flavors works well in my opinion. I will definitely be making this again! 5+ stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
What a wonderful salad! My family liked it so much they requested that I make it again this week! I made it to go with "Chicken and Pasta in a Mango Cream Sauce" (also on this site) to have a Caribbean themed night since we were all sick of winter. Therefore I deviated from the recipe a bit to use up extra ingredients I had lying around. I added cilantro to the salad, and I added juice from half a lime and some fresh grated ginger to the dressing. The dressing was divine! I almost didn't add the toasted coconut because I was a little skeptical. Don't leave it out. It pulls the flavors of the salad together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
FANTASTIC salad recipe. I made this to go with kalua pork. I was nervous thinking this recipe might be too sweet, but the bacon and the savory green onions offset it. I used less oil than it called for, and blended it in the blender to mix well and just moistened my salad with it so that meant there ended up being some left over (so I'd cut the dressing in half next time.) Also, I used real bacon bits and canned crushed pineapple to save time and it was still perfect. I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I'm into salads with fruit and nuts...this was a hit at the birthday dinner I made for my best friend. I liked the rice vinegar suggestion (fitting). It went well with BBQ'd butterflied leg of lamb. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Very good...we added a little more pineapple juice to the dressing; it was a little tart for our taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Loved this recipe! I only found sweetened shredded coconut in the baking aisle so I purchased a fresh coconut and grated it. Made a great difference! I will certainly make this again. Great texture and balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was soooooo good! I always improvise on this salad, adding whatever veggies I have on hand (i.e. carrots, tomatoes, green pepper, broccoli, etc.), and I don't usually use bacon bits. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DBG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This was fun and festive - I used it for a tropical based buffet for big luncheon. I like the ingredients in it, but there was something a little off with the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaysville, Utah, USA
Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I served this for my family on my birthday, rather than doing some boring old salad again. This tropical twist was a total hit! I toasted my coconut and almonds with brown sugar, and incorperated all of the coconut, rather than just some. It was fabulous! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepi-Rainbow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States