Tropical Salad with Pineapple Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I made this for my "luau" themed party. I doubled it all. I followed all but left out the pineapple.Just my choice. I also used toasted almond pieces. A huge hit at party. Went well with the slammin' salmon. Oh, I also used red onion for the color. The vinaigrette is perfect. I put the dressing in a small container and shook it before adding it to the salad. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SukieSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Delicious! Loved all the flavors together. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I love the idea of this salad, as well as the ingredients on their own. But I honestly don't understand the 5-star reviews. I used all fresh and, when possible, locally grown and/or organic ingredients--and thought it was insipid-tasting and not worth the trouble. I gave it 2 stars cause it was edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Perfect as is or add shrimp for a meal! To make this salad an appetizer or meal try this: Clean jumbo shrimp, (shell, devein, tails on), wrap each in a slice of prosciutto. Marinate for 30 minutes in a bit of the pineapple vinaigrette. Skewer with fresh (never canned) pineapple chunks and red bell pepper. Make salad according to directions. Grill or broil shrimp kabobs until prosciutto is crispy and shrimp are opaque. Toss salad with a bit of the vinaigrette and plate. Place kabobs on top of salad, drizzle with a bit more dressing, and serve. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Made with canned pineapple instead of fresh and used a red onion in place of the green onions to add a bit of color. Also added garlic and red pepper flakes to the dressing. This was so good I made the recipe amounts as written for 6 and 2 of us ate it all! Served with Ham and Pineapple sandwiches from this site. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
dressing was fabulous. used orange juice and added ginger to it. also sliced almonds, not macadamia nuts. arranged on plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Taste better than it looks. I wish the appearance was better. Even though I waited just before serving to toss dressing in, the salad still seemed soggy. Must be the pineapple. I drained it but you have to really have it dry. Everyone seemed to enjoy it. It went well with our Hawaiian style dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shantif

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idabel, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Super great! I rate the recipe as written 5 stars and with my changes 10 stars. I added feta cheese and dried cherries to the salad. I also added a few shakes of garlic powder and red pepper flakes to the dressing for some additional kick. I took the salad to a party and people flipped over it! I made it again with broiled chicken which was also fantastic! Be sure to use the freshest ingredients for huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamler, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Love this salad, this recipe is a keeper. I used the fresh pineapple but I grilled it before chopping and adding to the salad, if you've never ate grilled fruit you will be surprised at the flavor enhancement. I also cut the oil in half for the dressing. I served this with my ever so famous Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ore City, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Absolutely yummy! I made this as the recipe stated, other than subbing red onions for green (because I didn't have any) and toasted pecans for the macadamia nuts. This was fantastic!! The dressing with all that flavors works well in my opinion. I will definitely be making this again! 5+ stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States