Tropical Salad with Pineapple Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This salad was just what I was looking for to prepare for a large crowd at a tropical theme picnic! It sounded so good that I didn't read the reviews, but I added more pineapple juice as well as a little Splenda to the dressing. I used macadamia nuts and almonds. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This is certainly interesting and refreshing, but somehow the flavors just didn't appeal to us. The dressing certainly needs more kick, I followed reviewer Terri's advice cut the oil in half, and added garlic powder, ginger and a bit of sugar. Since I keep kosher, I used imitation bacon bits to get the same flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
My dad loved this salad! This is such agreat salad, because plain green salads aren't very popular at our house. But since this salad not only has meat, nuts, and coconut, it has pineapples, which makes it like a fruit salad, making it the most popular salad in the house now! I used almonds, as well as macondaias, and cooked all nuts with coconut and already fried bacon! Which the bacon turned out good, and crispy, while it starts to burn in the pan! Everything tasted great blended together, and the sauce was great with the salad! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Yum-o! I skipped the bacon, because some of my guests were vegetarians. I also added some extra vinegar because the dressing seemed a bit oily to me. The salad came out so delicious! I served it at a luau themed party, but will put it into my regular summertime rotation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I was hesitant to try this one, since I am somewhat of a salad traditionalist. We had guests from Hawaii however, so I thought "what the heck". I will never shy away from another unique salad again. Our guests raved as they discovered each taste in the salad. The coconut...the macadamia....mmmm! They even asked us for the recipe. Thank your for sharing this unique...and REALLY delicious salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
We made this for 35 and it was delightful. Forgot to get the coconut in, but it was still devoured by one and all. Next time I hope to get all of it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This was a nice light different salad. I doubled for Mother's Day and used almonds instead of mac nuts and served coconut on the side. I also cheated and used real bacon bits instead of frying my own bacon. My MIL loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This was very tastey!I made it without the coconut flakes and the pineapple chunks.I think next time I will make it just as written.I thought it would make it too sweet but now I know it would of been better.I would also double the dressing if you like alot of dressing.I will surely make this again.It has a unique taste...Great when you want to impress your guests!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I love this salad. I made it twice now, once for a special mothers day lunch and again for a bridal shower luncheon. Its always a huge sucess and everyone love how light and sweet it is. I've even substitued the mac. nuts for cashews and it was delicous both ways
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I have received so many compliments on the salad when I bring it to functions. It is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.Flo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States