Traditional Gyro Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
Mincing the onion in the food processor and wringing out the water was sheer genius. I made some minor alterations because it's impossible to find lamb where I live and because my oven is broken, but I tried to keep as true to it as I could. I had to use straight beef. Next time, I'll look for meat loaf mix, as the recipe would benefit from a little more fat in the meat, I think. I used 3/4 onion, 1 clove of garlic, 1 pound of 85% lean ground beef, and the remaining ingredients the same... kinda. I used a lot less black pepper because my husband is sensitive to it. I used the recommended amounts of oregano, marjoram, thyme, and cumin, but I started with dried herbs, not ground, and ground them by hand in a mortar and pestle. I also added 1 teaspoon of ground coriander because I always use coriander and cumin together. I don't have a working oven right now, so I shaped the mixture into a flattened log and grilled it over propane. The end result was absolutely delicious, and everyone in my husband's gaming group wants me to make it again soon. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehouse Station, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly and while it was edible, it was (a) NOTHING like the real thing and (b) simply not very good. Whatever you call it, it was neither authentic nor pleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
Made exactly as recipe states. Will try pan-frying or grilling the leftovers to get a crisper texture. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Tastes ABSOLUTELY NOTHING like a gyro.The meat is so DRY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Great. Try ove next time, set it and forget it turned out a little dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I can't give it 5 stars because I changed it! I wanted to make it a little healthier, so I used ground chicken breast and added an egg. I also just blended everything together in the food processor after the onions were squeezed dry and let it rest in the fridge for a few hours. I baked it in the water bath, and was so excited that it came out just like a chicken gyro from my local Greek place. The meat was not dry at all, which I was concerned about using chicken. It had a great flavor and my husband loved it too. A real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Brienza Posillico

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Delicious! Followed recipe. Saved the drippings and cooked the sliced meat in it for a full robust flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Awesome taste. Added lots more salt and cut rosemary down to 1/2 tsp. Would make again in a heartbeat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
This is the real deal, if you ever want to make your own gyros. Well worth the time. I used my meat grinder attachment on a Kitchen Aide instead of a food processor. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
It wasn't perfect (a little dry), but I give it 5 stars anyway because it was the closest I've ever come to traditional gyro meat at home. Very tasty, and the seasoning is spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States