Traditional Gyro Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This dish is among the best flavored gyro meat I've tasted. However the texture was off and nearly impossible to slice thin. After I sliced from the cooked loaf, I browned the slices in a pan with EVOO. This made a more familiar texture. Everyone enjoyed this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rickman, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I made this exactly how the recipe said and it came out very dry! Also it was not done in an hr. like stated...had to cook it a total of 1hr. And 35 minutes... it was still pretty tasteless...very disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Perfectly delicious. I cheat a bit by substituting beef with Italian style sausage, for a flavor boost. Even my picky eaters ask for seconds. And thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly using beef and pork (no ground lamb available). Used the exact proportions and the food processor as instructed. This was a bland meatloaf at best. Not very flavorful, crumbly and the wrong texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bandon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
A food processor would've been helpful for sure, but incredibly yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I made this tonight and it was wonderful. The only thing I did different is added more garlic and after slicing the meat,I fried them before serving. It was very good and tasted just like what you would get in a restaurant. I think letting the meat set longer then 2hours would be even better. I will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
The water bath keeps it moist , if u haven't followed the instructions then post your own ;) and yes I altered it (garlic garlic garlic and garlic salt ) but the the recipe is flawless cheers .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Changed a few things after reading ALL the reviews. 2lbs lean meat and 4tsp salt was too much. I used 2 tsp Italian seasoning 2tsp of Oregano 2tbsp garlic, no onion. I didn't use a food processor...don't have one. I pressed the meat in to a square pan VERY firmly. Baked it for 45 min. After cooling completely I was able to slice it fairly thin. Far less hassle, despite it being too salty, it was very good. I paired it off with the sweet sauce and it was as good as take out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by macangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Great recipe! I've been eating homemade gyros all week and loving it. I made the recipe exactly as written (but added a bit more salt based on reviews). Prep was simple. My food processor is small so had to do that in batches, but the consistency is worth it. Sliced it thin, and browned it in a non-greased, non-stick skillet. Perfection! You get a ton of meat if sliced thinly -- I will take this to my next party and serve on mini pitas for an appetizer to share, served with tomatoes and Tzatziki Sauce II from this site, which was also good (but if you make it, halve the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a Paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States