Traditional Gyro Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Tastes ABSOLUTELY NOTHING like a gyro.The meat is so DRY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Great. Try ove next time, set it and forget it turned out a little dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I can't give it 5 stars because I changed it! I wanted to make it a little healthier, so I used ground chicken breast and added an egg. I also just blended everything together in the food processor after the onions were squeezed dry and let it rest in the fridge for a few hours. I baked it in the water bath, and was so excited that it came out just like a chicken gyro from my local Greek place. The meat was not dry at all, which I was concerned about using chicken. It had a great flavor and my husband loved it too. A real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Brienza Posillico

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Delicious! Followed recipe. Saved the drippings and cooked the sliced meat in it for a full robust flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Awesome taste. Added lots more salt and cut rosemary down to 1/2 tsp. Would make again in a heartbeat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
This is the real deal, if you ever want to make your own gyros. Well worth the time. I used my meat grinder attachment on a Kitchen Aide instead of a food processor. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
It wasn't perfect (a little dry), but I give it 5 stars anyway because it was the closest I've ever come to traditional gyro meat at home. Very tasty, and the seasoning is spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
So delicious! The aroma out of the oven reminded me of the Greek restaurants we miss so much! Make sure you salt to your own taste is my only suggestions. Make fresh taziki sauce and good pita bread too of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I agree the prep was a little time consuming. Everyone loved it BUT I expected more flavor and will tweak the spice next time. My ONLY issue with this was attempting to shave the loaf rather than slice hunks of meat for the gyros. Does anyone have suggestions to shave the loaf more like a Greek restaurant does from the cone of meat?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This recipe is awesome, I love it! I am going to use it every time my family craves the back home taste for gyros. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shante

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield Gardens, New York, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States