Tomato Bread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This salad was fabulous! Wouldn't change a thing, except for maybe a little more garlic... because I like garlic. I would also agree to cube things smaller, as the sliced tomatoes were a little big for the bread. We didn't toast the bread, though, and it was DELISH- not too soggy at all. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I really enjoyed this salad! I used toasted garlic bread cubes instead of Italian, and dried basil instead of fresh. Nice amount of dressing and the bread just softened up a little. Next time I will cube everything smaller, so I can get a little ingrediant with every bite.I am bringing this to the next family BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This was a really good salad. I am giving it a 4 instead of 5 because I thought it was a bit boring as written. I added black olives, feta cheese and used Kraft sundried tomato vinegarette dressing. I didn't have fresh basil and neither did the grocery store so I had to use dried. I was pretty bummed out about that. I'm sure fresh would be way better. I will make this again though and I'll be more prepared next time and make sure I have fresh basil. I also thought the bread to produce ratio was a bit off. Too much bread not enough tomatoes and onions. I just added a bit more of each. also, I halved it and it still will serve 4 to 6 people a decent sized serving. I didn't use the dressing it called for but I used very little of the Kraft dressing so I would have to say that as written, the dressing it called for would be sufficient. The tomato juices moisten the bread some too. I think next time I will use cherry tomatoes sliced in half though to cut back on the tomato juice. This time I used Roma tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I used sourdough bread because that's my favorite bread. I loved it and so did my boyfriend! I thought that it was enough dressing as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I served this at a family gathering and everyone loved it. Good in a time crunch as well. Based on what the other reviewers wrote, I doubled the dressing and increased the tomatoes to about 4 cups and the ratio was perfect. Not at all too oily. Great way to use up old bread from the bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I couldn't get enough of it!!! And I halved the recipe but it was still so much that I shared with my neighbor (and now I'm printing it out for him, too! He loved it!). Make sure you seed the tomatoes, in my opinion. Also, I toasted my bread since it was fresh and I wish I had toasted it just slightly longer. 350 degrees on a cookie sheet, sliced about 1/2" thick for about 8 or 9 minutes would be perfect to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Excellent refreshing salad! I love the amount of basil that this calls for. Unlike others, I found the dressing was the perfect amount. I was tempted to make and add more, but once it was refrigerated for a bit, it was just right. I actually used a loaf of french bread that I had bought Friday night, so waiting the day and a half to use it turned out to be the right consistency for this recipe, imo. Not too fresh, not too stale/dry. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States