Tomato Bread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This was a really good salad. I am giving it a 4 instead of 5 because I thought it was a bit boring as written. I added black olives, feta cheese and used Kraft sundried tomato vinegarette dressing. I didn't have fresh basil and neither did the grocery store so I had to use dried. I was pretty bummed out about that. I'm sure fresh would be way better. I will make this again though and I'll be more prepared next time and make sure I have fresh basil. I also thought the bread to produce ratio was a bit off. Too much bread not enough tomatoes and onions. I just added a bit more of each. also, I halved it and it still will serve 4 to 6 people a decent sized serving. I didn't use the dressing it called for but I used very little of the Kraft dressing so I would have to say that as written, the dressing it called for would be sufficient. The tomato juices moisten the bread some too. I think next time I will use cherry tomatoes sliced in half though to cut back on the tomato juice. This time I used Roma tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I couldn't get enough of it!!! And I halved the recipe but it was still so much that I shared with my neighbor (and now I'm printing it out for him, too! He loved it!). Make sure you seed the tomatoes, in my opinion. Also, I toasted my bread since it was fresh and I wish I had toasted it just slightly longer. 350 degrees on a cookie sheet, sliced about 1/2" thick for about 8 or 9 minutes would be perfect to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I totally agree with the others who said this was not enough dressing, the bread isn't suppose to be soggy, but with the little amount of dressing this recipe called for it left the bread way to crunchy. I added KRAFT's Greek Vinagrette dressing and added feta cheese. What a HUGE hit this recipe with all my guests!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allee
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This was AMAZING! It was picked as one of the courses for my cooking club and everyone loved it. We all had seconds. I used the apple cider vinegar and olive oil combination and used grape tomatoes sliced in half. I cut out all the seeds as someone else had mentioned and I think that really helped. I also added fresh mozzerella cheese pearls. The dressing was not enough for the salad and another reviewer had mentioned making a second batch to have handy. I made the extra batch and brought that along and we all agreed it needed it. It was prefect after that. This is a great recipe and very easy! I will post my picture above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Tastes like bruschetta you eat with a fork -- what a novel idea! I had a day-old baguette lying around, so I cut it into cubes and left them out on the counter all day (in an uncovered container), and the texture was perfect by the time I was ready to make dinner. I also used fresh cherry tomatoes and basil from the farmer's market. Highly recommend the cherry tomatoes! Cut in half, they're the perfect size. Also, PLEASE don't try to substitute dried basil for fresh. It's barely even the same dish without it! The dressing was good, but I subbed balsamic vinegar for red wine. I also added feta cheese. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOOCHOOMCYUMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Excellent refreshing salad! I love the amount of basil that this calls for. Unlike others, I found the dressing was the perfect amount. I was tempted to make and add more, but once it was refrigerated for a bit, it was just right. I actually used a loaf of french bread that I had bought Friday night, so waiting the day and a half to use it turned out to be the right consistency for this recipe, imo. Not too fresh, not too stale/dry. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I am giving this a three based on the ingredients, not the quantities. The amount of dressing for that much bread is totally wrong! I think it best to make up a batch of Italian vinaigrette (recipe on here) and use that on the salad as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
we had this salad for the first time,it was very good. However, the store was out of fresh basil and so was I, so I just bought feta,basil,tomato cheese. I also used Italian seasoned croutons,and because my husband thinks you must have lettuce,I used romaine which worked great.Thanks for posting a great change of pace salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Excellent! I didn't have fresh basil so I used dried. I added fresh spinach to add more nutrition. Also, I used white onion since I was out of red. (I used the cider vinegar option versus red wine vinegar, and olive oil option versus vegetable oil.) The dressing was delicious =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K_Palm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I added marinated mozzarella shaped in balls or cubes. I also used a mix of cherry and pear tomatoes and cut them in half. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gabriels, New York, USA
Living In: Hidden Valley Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States