Tomato Bread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I had this salad at a local restuarant & thought it was wonderful. I made my salad with an italian cheese bread. That was the only change that I made. Incredible recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pink, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
This recipe is wonderful! I used fresh tomatoes out of the garden in it and everyone loved it. Didn't change the amount of anything in the recipe. It's a keeper as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I am giving this a three based on the ingredients, not the quantities. The amount of dressing for that much bread is totally wrong! I think it best to make up a batch of Italian vinaigrette (recipe on here) and use that on the salad as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I added marinated mozzarella shaped in balls or cubes. I also used a mix of cherry and pear tomatoes and cut them in half. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gabriels, New York, USA
Living In: Hidden Valley Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I totally agree with the others who said this was not enough dressing, the bread isn't suppose to be soggy, but with the little amount of dressing this recipe called for it left the bread way to crunchy. I added KRAFT's Greek Vinagrette dressing and added feta cheese. What a HUGE hit this recipe with all my guests!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Excellent refreshing salad! I love the amount of basil that this calls for. Unlike others, I found the dressing was the perfect amount. I was tempted to make and add more, but once it was refrigerated for a bit, it was just right. I actually used a loaf of french bread that I had bought Friday night, so waiting the day and a half to use it turned out to be the right consistency for this recipe, imo. Not too fresh, not too stale/dry. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I couldn't get enough of it!!! And I halved the recipe but it was still so much that I shared with my neighbor (and now I'm printing it out for him, too! He loved it!). Make sure you seed the tomatoes, in my opinion. Also, I toasted my bread since it was fresh and I wish I had toasted it just slightly longer. 350 degrees on a cookie sheet, sliced about 1/2" thick for about 8 or 9 minutes would be perfect to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I served this at a family gathering and everyone loved it. Good in a time crunch as well. Based on what the other reviewers wrote, I doubled the dressing and increased the tomatoes to about 4 cups and the ratio was perfect. Not at all too oily. Great way to use up old bread from the bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States