Tomato Bread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This salad was fabulous! Wouldn't change a thing, except for maybe a little more garlic... because I like garlic. I would also agree to cube things smaller, as the sliced tomatoes were a little big for the bread. We didn't toast the bread, though, and it was DELISH- not too soggy at all. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I really enjoyed this salad! I used toasted garlic bread cubes instead of Italian, and dried basil instead of fresh. Nice amount of dressing and the bread just softened up a little. Next time I will cube everything smaller, so I can get a little ingrediant with every bite.I am bringing this to the next family BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This was a really good salad. I am giving it a 4 instead of 5 because I thought it was a bit boring as written. I added black olives, feta cheese and used Kraft sundried tomato vinegarette dressing. I didn't have fresh basil and neither did the grocery store so I had to use dried. I was pretty bummed out about that. I'm sure fresh would be way better. I will make this again though and I'll be more prepared next time and make sure I have fresh basil. I also thought the bread to produce ratio was a bit off. Too much bread not enough tomatoes and onions. I just added a bit more of each. also, I halved it and it still will serve 4 to 6 people a decent sized serving. I didn't use the dressing it called for but I used very little of the Kraft dressing so I would have to say that as written, the dressing it called for would be sufficient. The tomato juices moisten the bread some too. I think next time I will use cherry tomatoes sliced in half though to cut back on the tomato juice. This time I used Roma tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I used sourdough bread because that's my favorite bread. I loved it and so did my boyfriend! I thought that it was enough dressing as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I served this at a family gathering and everyone loved it. Good in a time crunch as well. Based on what the other reviewers wrote, I doubled the dressing and increased the tomatoes to about 4 cups and the ratio was perfect. Not at all too oily. Great way to use up old bread from the bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I couldn't get enough of it!!! And I halved the recipe but it was still so much that I shared with my neighbor (and now I'm printing it out for him, too! He loved it!). Make sure you seed the tomatoes, in my opinion. Also, I toasted my bread since it was fresh and I wish I had toasted it just slightly longer. 350 degrees on a cookie sheet, sliced about 1/2" thick for about 8 or 9 minutes would be perfect to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Excellent refreshing salad! I love the amount of basil that this calls for. Unlike others, I found the dressing was the perfect amount. I was tempted to make and add more, but once it was refrigerated for a bit, it was just right. I actually used a loaf of french bread that I had bought Friday night, so waiting the day and a half to use it turned out to be the right consistency for this recipe, imo. Not too fresh, not too stale/dry. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States