Tom Yum Koong Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Amazing recipe! Tom Yum is my all-time favorite soup and this recipe nails it. I'll be making this over and over again. Instead of making the shrip stock I added one cube shrimp buillon and one cube veggie bullion. Ended up using over 5 cups of water and added some fresh chopped veggies and shrimp. yum yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
just like moms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This is absolutely delicious. It is wonderfully spicy and the contrasting textures are great. Because the recipe didn't specify a mushroom type I used fresh straw mushrooms which I got at the local Asian store. I'm not sure if they have these at a typical market? I also cooked some Asian noodles and added them to each serving to make the soup more into a meal. In addition I added some more vegetables like baby corn, a little sliced napa cabbage and carrots. As others have noted putting the shrimp in 10 minutes before finishing will turn them into rubber. I actually threw them in as I finished/turned the heat off. The soup is so hot that it cooks them perfectly. I couldn't find kaffir lime leaves but I found a website saying that lime zest is pretty close(1 tablespoon lime zest = 6 kaffir lime leaves). Also don't skip on the fresh cilantro (or coriander) at the end, it adds great contrast.Hope this helps. Enjoy. Thanks Michelle for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goffstown, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Finally!! An accurate, restaurant quality Tom Yum Soup!! I followed the recipe almost exact except for the lemon grass...I purchased that in a glass bottle. I also agree with another reviewer that stated you should not skip the Tom Yum Paste. I will definitely have to tweek this recipe to match my favorite restaurants Tom yum shrimp soup...But with this recipe I am sure I have all the ingredients and will be successful in finally being able to make my absolute favorite soup on Earth!!! Thank you to the recipe writer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by plumber2007

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Really delicious! It's almost identical to the prawn hot and sour soup I get at a local Thai restaurant. In my case, I found that 4 cups of water wasn't nearly enough to accommodate all of the ingredients (especially 12 mushrooms) and the shrimp came out overcooked after being in there for 10 minutes; next time, I will use jumbo shrimp or prawns (since they shrink a lot) and cook them for 5-7 minutes instead of 10. I added 4 extra cups of water and a 1/2 tbsp extra tom yum paste to add volume, and it still tasted delicious. I also added baby corn, which my local restaurant puts in their soup. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
EXOTIC!EASY! I loved this even before the coconut milk was added. The C.milk gave it the complex flavor. Enjoyable either way. I ruined it a bit by pureeing the lemongrass to give it a stronger flavor. BIG MISTAKE! You're constantly spitting out unchewable hairs and scales. It should be removed from soup before serving. I suggest pureeing, and wrapping in cheese cloth. LESSON: "follow the recipe".Thanks for the great recipe. I feel so accomplished now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2funrealtors

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
An excellent recipe for a favorite soup. It was hard to find some of the ingredients, so I had to replace lime rind with the kaffir leaves and one habanero pepper for the bird's eye peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
This soup is amazing! I was looking for a recipe like this after having this soup at a Thai restaurant. The first time I made this recipe, it turned out great but making the broth from scratch is expensive and time consuming. I used fish stock the second time around (the broth made from dissolving a cube into hot water) in combination with the fish sauce and it tasted exactly the same - except it took a lot less time! I threw in the shrimp without shells later on. I would recommend cooking the shrimp for a little less time than the recipe recommends if you don't want them to come out rubbery! I also added Thai red curry paste instead of the Tom yum soup paste that I couldn't find. This recipe is definitely a keeper in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This was great and authentic tasting. I doubled the lemongrass and used powdered galangal since I could not find fresh. I may have added too many vegetable chunks so next time I will reduce so there is more delicious soup. Really great and spicy. Make sure you have some tissues handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This soup was absolutely uh-mazing! the only change I made was adding an extra tablespoon of tom yum paste and had it served with rice. It's so easy and fast to make...in fact it only took me 20 minutes! Next time I will add mussels to the recipe since my family devoured the shrimp so quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Turkey Tom Kha Gai

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into a spicy Thai soup with coconut milk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States