Tom Yum Koong Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Very much like you get in Thailand, but 5min max is heaps for cooking the prawns and I don't think you need canned mushrooms I use extra fresh ones. If you replace the prawns with 300 grams chicken fillets cut into bite sized pieces you have -- Tom Yam Gai
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Excellent recipe!! I also added some diced fresh tomatoes and diced pineapple which added some yummy texture and sweetness to the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Very good. I didnt have all the ingredients as I'm sure it would have been much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I recently went to Bangkok and this is almost exactly what I had at several restaurants. I have a local Asian market and am able to find all the ingredients. I suspect if all you can find is the Tom Yum paste...that would be the most important one. Lemon Grass is important as well. The lime and cilantro is a nice touch for each serving. I loved this recipe/soup and it makes me miss Thailand. No doubt this is authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Honestly, once you get the ingredients, it's so easy and truly fabulous! Tastes just like in the restaurant. I recommend using fresh mushrooms only because the canned ones we bought had a distinctive and unpleasant flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This recipe is absolutely a staple in my house. I have been cooking this recipe for about a year now almost two times a week. (sometimes more!) I am addicted! I can only find the kafir lime leaves online so I substitute with 4 juiced limes making it absolutely delicious! I also throw in a lot of chilies and chile sauce for extra hotness!!! The Tom Yum paste is a also a must... it makes it authentic! This recipe is better than any Tum Yum soup I have had in a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheri
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Definately 5 stars, I don't care for shrip so I used diced chicken breast instead, couldn't find kaffir lime leaves so I zested my limes, and I couldn't find sliced galangal, so I didn't worry about that. Also, I didn't have chili paste but I did use Tom Yum Soup Paste. Was VERY delicious! My oldest daughter loved it and wants it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Amazing recipe! Tom Yum is my all-time favorite soup and this recipe nails it. I'll be making this over and over again. Instead of making the shrip stock I added one cube shrimp buillon and one cube veggie bullion. Ended up using over 5 cups of water and added some fresh chopped veggies and shrimp. yum yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
just like moms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This is absolutely delicious. It is wonderfully spicy and the contrasting textures are great. Because the recipe didn't specify a mushroom type I used fresh straw mushrooms which I got at the local Asian store. I'm not sure if they have these at a typical market? I also cooked some Asian noodles and added them to each serving to make the soup more into a meal. In addition I added some more vegetables like baby corn, a little sliced napa cabbage and carrots. As others have noted putting the shrimp in 10 minutes before finishing will turn them into rubber. I actually threw them in as I finished/turned the heat off. The soup is so hot that it cooks them perfectly. I couldn't find kaffir lime leaves but I found a website saying that lime zest is pretty close(1 tablespoon lime zest = 6 kaffir lime leaves). Also don't skip on the fresh cilantro (or coriander) at the end, it adds great contrast.Hope this helps. Enjoy. Thanks Michelle for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goffstown, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Turkey Tom Kha Gai

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into a spicy Thai soup with coconut milk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States