Tom Yum Koong Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Loved it. Cooked it without remembering to look at reviews but it still came out great! I used mirepoix (diced onion, carrots and celery) to fill it out, a habit I have from making restaurant soups, and it was really hardy. I used a whole largish onion and similar amounts of carrot and celery, but will actually make half as much next time so as not to make it quite so hardy. I cooked the vegetables in the soup pot with salt and pepper, adding the garlic, ginger, meat and red chiles just before adding stock (instead of water). I didn't have lime leaves, but used a little tom yum paste i had from a noodle soup kit that had been around my kitchen forever. I forgot to add fish sauce, but to no ill effect, we just added a little salt when we served it over a small ball of rice. Went light on peppers when making it, and added sambal (chili garlic sauce) individually for flavor and kick. I would say the tom-yum paste would be the easy way to make this soup, and galangal and kaffir lime leaves is the right way. I will likely use both next time. Add coconut milk just before serving to turn this Tom Yum into Tom Ka!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Just made this soup tonight..It was great. My face was red and my sinuses were working well by the time I was done :) wasn't enough broth though. I'm going to add more water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katie
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Used lime zest instead of kaffir lime leaves, frozen ginger instead of galangal, palm sugar instead of regular white sugar, and added bamboo shoots (sliced) and the bulb of a lemongrass. It tasted just like the Tom Yum from my old fave Thai restaurant, Tamada, that no longer exists!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Fantastic!! My boyfriend and I order this dish at every thai restaurant we go to, and this was spot on. I used one cup of chicken broth, 1 cup of veggie broth, and 2 of water. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Absolutely delicious, I used fresh mushrooms and added them towards the end of cooking. I also added the Tom Yum Soup paste and it really is a must. I doubled the chile paste as we like it very spicy and after that it was perfect. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nahum and Brandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
So delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hallie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Very good! We used vegetable stock and tofu instead of the shrimp for a vegetarian version and left out the fish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Whenever I go to a Thai’s restaurant, I always order Tom Yum Koong. I have tried to cook this soup at home, but it never came out right! However, last weekend, I found this recipe and tried it! Oh my god! To my surprised, I cooked the best Tom Yum Koong ever!!! It is sweet, sour, perfectly spicy, and authentic just as at my favorite Thai’s restaurant! This will be my all time favorite recipe from for sure! I am going to add a twist to it by adding seafood to see if it is still good! Thank you for a wonderful authentic recipe! It’s simply the BEST! It there was a 6 stars, I would give it a 6 stars! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I missed the part about shrimp heads!!....so I had to make do with boiling their shells first? I must have boiled it way too long, b/c most of my water was gone. So I probably added another 3 or 4 cups of water. I doubled the Tom Yum paste and the chili paste (I has something called garlic chili sauce). I just used 8 ounces of regular white mushrooms...plus added a can/jar of baby corn (comes in a slightly sweet pickled liquid that I added too)....I used 3 chilis....I used 6 each of the galangal slices and lime leaves next time...carrots might be a nice touch and some bamboo shoots too!! Loved it though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Turkey Tom Kha Gai

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into a spicy Thai soup with coconut milk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States