Tom Yum Koong Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Delicious. Added some fresh cilantro when I added the lime, etc to the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRTW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I LOVE this recipe. I drove 45 mins each way to get the ingredients but it was well worth it. It is BETTER than the restaurants version where I tried it. I don't ever really review things so this is a first.. the flavor was wonderful. I tried doubling it but didn't end up with enough water at the end.. glad I doubled the water initially. It was also spicy so if you want less spice, use less chilis or leave the seeds out... but overall omg. I couldnt find the birds eye chilis so I went with a thai chili instead... still amazing. Definitely my new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Excellent! We made a few modifications: we added way more fresh mushrooms (double or more) but we did not use the canned ones, used a few more Kaffir leaves, used a tablespoon of frozen lemon grass instead of the dried stocks and we added some thinly sliced chicken. Also, to make things a bit easier, we just boiled the water and then added everything to it. Tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Embrun, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I bought a package of Tom Yum soup mix and used this recipe to help me flush out the rather simple and bland sounding directions. My soup turned out almost exactly as it tastes at my favourite Viet-Thai restaurant! Thought I would be in for quite an ordeal, as the soup looks pretty complex and has a lot of exotic ingredients, but it was very easy and I was able to find everything at the local Asian market. I used a whole packet of soup paste and my favourite additions to this soup are shrimp, fried tofu and Thai eggplant (which look like tiny watermelons). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Very Authentic. It serves a bit less then 5 people in my opinion. My husband and I can easily finish the "5" servings between us two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice E.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Just make as is and good, good, good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Great soup! It is a light soup so you will want to eat something along with this if making for dinner. Also, I got the Tom Yum paste but it really bothers me that you cannot get it w/o MSG in the paste. This is very unhealthy. Next time I'll try to make it w/o the paste and hopefully will be good. Also start with peeled, cleaned shrimp as this process is time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was really good but it was waaaay too hot for our tastes. And I only added 1 bird eye chili! Had no trouble finding all of the Asian ingredients. On the shopkeeper's recommendation, I used a bouillon type cube that I got at the Asian market instead of the soup paste. Maybe that added heat to the dish too. In any case, except for the heat, the flavor was very good. I looooooved the kaffir lime leaves and definitely would not ever substitute them in any Asian recipe I make in the future. They are unique! I didn't have fresh mushrooms so I used all canned shitakes, and I also added some dried black fungus which, even when reconstituted, added a very pleasant crunch to the soupl I like my soup zippy so I added quite a bit more lime juice than called for. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Excellent!!! This is the first time I successfully duplicated Thai food at home. I recommend using the tom yum soup paste. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Loved it. Cooked it without remembering to look at reviews but it still came out great! I used mirepoix (diced onion, carrots and celery) to fill it out, a habit I have from making restaurant soups, and it was really hardy. I used a whole largish onion and similar amounts of carrot and celery, but will actually make half as much next time so as not to make it quite so hardy. I cooked the vegetables in the soup pot with salt and pepper, adding the garlic, ginger, meat and red chiles just before adding stock (instead of water). I didn't have lime leaves, but used a little tom yum paste i had from a noodle soup kit that had been around my kitchen forever. I forgot to add fish sauce, but to no ill effect, we just added a little salt when we served it over a small ball of rice. Went light on peppers when making it, and added sambal (chili garlic sauce) individually for flavor and kick. I would say the tom-yum paste would be the easy way to make this soup, and galangal and kaffir lime leaves is the right way. I will likely use both next time. Add coconut milk just before serving to turn this Tom Yum into Tom Ka!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Turkey Tom Kha Gai

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into a spicy Thai soup with coconut milk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States