Tina's Best BBQ Lime Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
We made this recently and it was a big hit, even with my kids. We used 3 large skinless and boneless chicken breasts and used a lot less marinade- about 1/2 cup lime juice and a little less than 1/2 cup olive oil but the same amount of spices and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This chicken is so good - thank you Tina! I used boneless chicken breasts (a little over a pound) that I pounded down to about 1/2 inch thick. For the rub, I added 1/4 tsp. of chili powder and 1/4 tsp. of cumin. I put everything into a ziploc bag added the olive oil (1/2 cup), garlic, lime juice (1 cup), and cilanto along with some lime zest. I let this marinate for 24 hours. I didn't bother boiling the excess marinade - there wasn't much left as the chicken soaked it up plus I usually just baste it during grilling. This chicken was moist, had a nice kick to it and was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2001
Very good, but my family asked me to make it with boneless chicken breasts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
The flavour of the chicken is fantastic! I used a whole chicken and butterflied it down the back. I have also used boneless skinless chicken breasts. The chicken is so tender! I will be using this over and over again. I had a 3 lb chicken and found half of the lime and oil was enough. Didn't cut down on the other ingredients though. I used bottled lime juice and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
Mmmmm.... So good! I used less olive oil than called for and also left out the cilantro (allergy) and this was fantastic! I did marinate the chicken for more than 24 hours. Served it over Strawberry Spinach Salad from this site. The strawberries and lime complement each other wonderfully. Thanks Tina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I have been making this recipe for years - yet have failed to mention how amazing it was to the allrecipes world! Thank you for sharing a perfect marinade! Instead of whole chicken pieces, I use boneless skinless thighs or breast tenders and it is perfect every time! Tina - this is the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Barnlund

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
To cut down on the preparation time for this recipe, I used 1/2 fresh squeezed lime juice, and 1/2 "Reallime" juice. It was very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
12/7/09 I made & reviewed back in July. I made it again this weekend and marinated it longer - 5 hours - and it was a little too tangy. I think I will cut back on the oil next time. Still a great recipe I'll make again and again. 7/8/09 - This was fantastic! I used boneless chicken breasts (adjusted grill time), kept the same ratio of juice to oil, marinated 2 hours - super great flavor! I reduced the reserved marinade by half and used as final glaze. Thanks for the deliciousness Tina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOFTCHELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearl, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cedar Grove, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2000
Very good, super easy, and flavorful. We went with 1 tsp. of red pepper instead of 1/2 for a little extra zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
I love to use this chicken left over for chicken tacos. I also marinate overnight and omit cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States