The Best Valentine Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
These came out perfect. They were a breeze to make and delicious too. I used vanilla instead of almond and butter instead of shortening. Because a lot of people remarked on them not being sweet enough, I added an extra half cup of sugar as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Musella-Fling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centereach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I reallly don't want to hurt anyones feelings... but my whole family disliked these.. a lot. it tastes like a lump of flour. after making them and tasting, it actually put me in a bad mood.. I just wasted 7 cups of flour, and shortening which is NOT cheap. ! if you are going to make this type.. roll them way thinner.. put some butter in there.. and add another cup of sugar.. hopefully it will save them... I make tons of cookies from scratch and these were awful. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I would call this recipe OK... we put vanilla extract in instead of almond and used butter flavored shortening. but the cookie just tasted BLA and a little to dry... although the dough was very easy to work with and they looked beautiful even made a horse shaped one for my daughter... they just didn't have much flavor... WOULD NOT MAKE THEM AGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I subsituted the almond for vanilla, but they don't taste like anything. They are easy to roll out , and you don't need to refridgerate the dough, but they have no taste. I had to put icing on them, just to get my kids to eat them. Maybe I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Use vanilla extract!!! The almond extract probably changed the taste of the cookie. It didn't taste quite like the sugar cookies I had in mind. But they came out and tasted fairly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Here's an idea...instead of substituting the vanilla for almond, or the almond for vanilla, use BOTH almond AND vanilla! It is an absolutely wonderful flavor combination. Just try it in ANY cut-out or butter cookie recipe. YOU WILL LOVE IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
The doughwas wonderful, but sticky had to add alot of flour to be able to roll out. they cooked up nice BUT, they tasted dry and had a distinct flour taste. Im wondering if alot of icing would mask this but will try others. Looking for a thick prfessional looking cookie to paint for valentines day. Was very disappointed. I think its the shortening, maybe more sugar???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver Ghost

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linden, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I halved this recipie and at first I thought the dough had a funny texture, but they were VERY easy to roll out. They do turn out to be a little bit more like a shortbread cookie, as they are not as sweet as most sugar cookies. I rolled mine out very thick and made them into "popcicle cookies" as a bridal shower gift...turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
These turned out so good! They are absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Halved the recipe and used rum instead of extract (didn't have any). Also used two eggs in the halved version. Iced with a pink colored frosting of powdered sugar and milk. Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States