The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
These are awesome, but I always need to add a few tablespoons of milk to the dough while mixing, usually 4-5 T (as needed). In the end the dough is still too stiff for my mixer, so I hand blend in the last bit of flour. They're even better with double the vanilla and the zest of a whole lemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
i am not a great baker, lots of the recipes i make turned out bad but this one was great they were gone fast and they didnt even have icing on them. i did change the servings and i made the cookies pretty thick so i only got like 6 cookies and i didnt leave it in the fridge for an hour i only did 15 mins then knead it but it was crubly so i put it back in but in the freeser and for 15 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This recipe was outstanding and came out perfect with the Sheldon cutters. However what are the measurements for the frosting exactly, to add more sweet into it. Also whats the measurements for the pasting,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NVM
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Ridiculously easy recipe with basic ingredients. My whole family likes the taste. Ranks way up there in my Christmas cookie baking list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NVM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Farmersweetheart
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I made two batches of this recipe back to back. The first one I followed exactly, and it was pretty sticky even after I refrigerated it for an hour. The cookies were still very good, but the second batch was much better. On the second batch I reduced one egg, and only used 3, but I increased the vanilla to 2 teaspoons. It was much less sticky and easily managed. I thought these were perfect. I was careful not to overbake them. They might not look done on top, but the bottoms were beautiful after just 7 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Absolutely perfect recipe!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Really impressed. I'm a chef by trade and do a lot of baking, this is my first ever attempt at sugar cookies and considering i just ate 4 of them without frosting, ok 5...maybe 6, the recipe speaks for itself, these are not generally made in Australia for holiday occasions, but my husband is American and he always tells me how good his mum's are. They are a little chewy, sweet and have a beautiful vanilla flavour. I added 1 extra cup of sugar and 1 extra teaspoon of vanilla. I made the dough at 8am, it's 11 am now and I have some iced. I just couldn't wait overnight, I'm too impatient. I chilled the dough for an hour, then cut what I needed and chilled the cut cookies before cooking. Once out of the oven i let them stand for 20 minutes before popping them in the fridge so I could decorate a few. They hold their shape, and didnt crumble at all. I'm looking forward to baking the next 100, it seems there is a lot of dough still in the fridge. I did read another review that said ' mix the flour with a spoon, not the electric mixer' this is a must, otherwise I'm sure i would have crumbly tough cookie dough. Thank you for making my first attempt at sugar cookies an easy one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Seriously, don't roll out the dough too thin. I've made this a few times. The time I did it most recently they turned out the best because I made a thicker cookie. 1/2 in roll out instead of 1/4 inch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I have been baking Holiday cookies for over 50 years and collected hundreds of favorite recipes. This is absolutely THE BEST rolled sugar cookie recipe I have ever encountered. Follow the instructions explicitly for great results. Thank you so much to whoever contributed this recipe to Allrecipes.com! Gary S
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
The taste is great, but even with the dough chilled for a full day it was too soft to cut out and transfer the cookies to a tray. I ended up just making balls and flattening them with my hands. I think to make cut out shapes rolling it directly on parchment paper would be crucial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 6,289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States