The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I've made this recipe for over 10 years for the annual Christmas decorating cookie party. It's amazing! I've learned to make the dough the night before. I leave it in the bowl for about an hour, then round it out into 4-5 circles in wax paper and put it back in the fridge overnight to bake the next morning. Simply wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
The only recipe for sugar cookies I will use. Thty turn out pefect every time. Be sure to chill the dough for long enough and you're golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This is a TERRIBLE recipe. I have been baking for most of my life and have never had a roll out dough come out like this. I followed the recipe to the exact letter and after two hour I still couldn't roll it. It is a sticky mess. DO NOT USE THIS RECIPE!!!!! Find another!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Butler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
These cookies were great. They kept a good shape and tasted wonderful. If you want your cookies to keep their shape roll them thin. To thick these cookies loose shape and are cake like. I make these cookies every year. I left dough overnight and it was perfect for rolling and cutting. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dominello

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I tried this recipe out for the first time yesterday and it went very well! I was slightly nervous about some of the comments that people had made that said the dough was too sticky and unmanageable, but I had no problems! I made my dough the night before, split it into 4 portions and wrapped each one in wax paper and put in the fridge. I will say that it was a little difficult to roll out without letting the dough warm up just a little bit. I had no trouble with anything being sticky. I only gave 4 stars because I feel the taste of the cookie was lacking slightly (I didn't ice my cookies, only used an assortment of sprinkles)...but my husband said they were the best sugar cookies he has ever had! So who knows :) But I will certainly use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I tried this recipe yesterday. I followed all of the directions to a T and the dough turned out very very sticky and stuck to the cookie cutters, destroying the cookies completely. I rolled them out with flour and on wax paper. I even, tried rolling them out on sugar and wax paper. Nothing was different. Still a sticky doughy mess. I decided to just try them as-is and dropped on an un-greased cookie sheet. They were terrible! They tasted like flour!! Trust me, I used a mixer, so the ingredients were well-blended. What did I do wrong? Seriously, I'd like to know. I had to throw the whole batch out. I chose this recipe because of its good reviews and high rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roxie, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Delicious and works perfectly every single time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
How did this get such a high rating? My bet is the cookies in the picture weren't made with this recipe. it is way to sticky the use with cookie cutters even after leaving the dough overnight in the fridge. not a very tasty cookie so not worth trying to play with recipe to make it workable with cookie cutters. would give less then 1 star if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Carmichael

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
The only critique I have for this recipe is that the cookies could be sweeter, but considering my children gobbled them up, maybe it's for the best. ;) I had no problem rolling the cookies, the key was a lot of flour on the rolling surface and the rolling pin and letting the dough sit for at least an hour in the fridge. I even added a little food colouring and made colord cookies. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystle Berger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
A no fail recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 6,429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States