The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I've used this recipe for a few years and get rave reviews on it every time. People love that it isn't too sweet like other sugar cookies. I also use the top rated sugar icing recipe on this site to go with it. I have a small cookie business and by far this is the favorite of my customers for decorated cookies. I alternate between using vanilla and other flavors (ie. Almond, orange, lemon etc.) based on what I feel like having and/or customer requests. The cooking time varies based on my cookies' thickness but that's a product of my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Eagle Lake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
If you are looking for a soft tasty sugar cookie, well you have found it! I like these at 1/2" to even 3/4" before popping in the oven. They turn out great this way. My oven is finicky so it might just be my oven, but I have to put these on the highest rack otherwise the bottoms get too dark. Chilling the dough overnight is a must. I made them the first time this way and then only let them chill an hour this time. I noticed a big difference in the taste. Really quick and easy recipe that everyone raves over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqulyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Norris, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Each time these come out delicious and are easy to make. I've made them about 3 times in the past 3 months, once with a very finicky oven in a foreign country. But they work. Great to make with kids as they can help mixing the simple ingredients and cut out the cookies. Tthey rise a little (not crunchy cookies) and only turn a little golden, they don't brown, so don't wait for them to brown. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandy
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I had never tried making sugar cookies and this recipe was the best one to try to do that with. I Loved it. It was easy to roll out, cut out and bake evenly. The only thing I added was orange zest and it gave it some added flavor. I also followed the suggestion to roll it out with powdered sugar instead. It made all the difference. And the recipe makes plenty of dough to make cookies and save enough for later. My SIL was going to pay over $50 to get these made and I told her no way. So I gave it a shot and made band-aids and mini thermometer cookies for my nieces' Doc Mc Stuffin party and they came out great- for less than $10! The only way to go. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Really good, taste a little like flour though so icing is recommended. If you roll it out to 1/2" you may need to increase baking time to 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This is my go-to recipe for rolled sugar cookies. I make no changes to the recipe and they have been consistently perfect. Great texture and easy to work with. When cooked, they are nice and firm for kids to decorate, but softer than other cookies. Love this recipe. I have tried adding a little almond extract once and it was delicious too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I added a bit extra sugar and cut down a wee bit on the flour. Then I colored some sugar red and rolled out some of them on that, cut out heart shapes, flipped them over and baked them. They look great. Then I rolled out the last few in cocoa powder, cut out and flipped them and baked. They look good too. Havent tasted anything but the dough yet, but it tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
dont know why it has good reviews, didnt like the flavor or texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara Molin
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I made half the recipe and that was enough for the short attention span of a nine year old who was rolling them out, cutting out and decorating. That made two cookie sheets which is plenty for a family that is not big on sugar but loves to celebrate! A little on the too sweet side especially after adding the icing and coloured sugar on top, so I will reduce the sugar next time. They're not called sugar cookies for nothing. Other than that the recipe is great as it is. I used almond flavouring instead of vanilla because that's all I had. Watch the oven like a hawk after six minutes. Some of the thinner ones need to come out. We "sanded off" the little bit of the lightly burned bottoms when needed with a cheese grater. Great way of spending quality time with children. Oh, and we put the dough between plastic wrap to roll out and had no problem with it sticking to the rolling pin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Molin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara Molin
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I made half the recipe and that was enough for the short attention span of a nine year old who was rolling them out, cutting out and decorating. That made two cookie sheets which is plenty for a family that is not big on sugar but loves to celebrate! A little on the too sweet side especially after adding the icing and coloured sugar on top, so I will reduce the sugar next time. They're not called sugar cookies for nothing. Other than that the recipe is great as it is. I used almond flavouring instead of vanilla because that's all I had. Watch the oven like a hawk after six minutes. Some of the thinner ones need to come out. We "sanded off" the little bit of the lightly burned bottoms when needed with a cheese grater. Great way of spending quality time with children. Oh, and we put the dough between plastic wrap to roll out and had no problem with it sticking to the rolling pin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Molin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 6,595) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States