Thai Hot and Sour Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
I have used this same recipe for two years now and it is the best. I have not used basil or coriander with it though but I will try it next time. Refreshing with the lemongrass and sinfully spicy. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Morris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
mmmmm...YUMMY! Tastes like the Tom Yum at the Thai Restaurant that will charge you 4 bucks for a small bowl full. I was impressed, not that difficult either. I used low sodium canned chicken broth and substitued tofu instead of chicken and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morristown, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hiroshima, Hiroshima, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
Excellent and authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is a yummy soup! I found a fresh frozen finely chopped lemon grass in the oriental store that I keep handy all the time. I make a big batch of this soup and freeze it in individual containers. I just pop it in the microwave every time I crave for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I'macooknotabaker!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Very good, tasted very much like the Tom Yum soup from our fave Thai restaurant. To make it a little more authentic, I used straw mushrooms instead of regular. Good stuff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Delicious! What a great flavor. We used lime zest insetad of kaffir lime leaves (couldn't find them), and it was easy and awesome. Next time, we will cut chicken in half and add shrimp. Probably would serve 4 as a first course easily, but 6 is a stretch. All in all, a keeper that we will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I only made a couple minor changes. I thought there needed to be more "broth to chicken" ratio..I added an extra cup of water and one chicken breast instead of two.Lacking the limes leaves I also used lime zest. The poster that put it in a tea ball...that was a great idea! The one hing Ifound though is not to leave the lime zest in very long. Short time = flavor. Too long = bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
YUM! I used canned straw mushrooms and had to leave out the green chile (had none). I also left out the chicken because i was making this a starter. Had I followed this exactly it would be 6 stars. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
The recipe was pretty good and authentic. I added some scallops when I made it. I always prefer seafood flovor for this Thai soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaoMao

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This turned out great the first time! Next time I'll tweak by adding more mushrooms and going a little lighter on the fresh herbs. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States