Thai Hot and Sour Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I substituted 3 cups of veggie broth, added 2 cans of coconut milk and it was amazing, very authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newcook30

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This soup was amazing. And really easy to make. It tasted just like the hot and sour soup from our favourite Thai restaurant. I made it for friends and everyone loved it. I used tofu instead of chicken and it worked really well. I also could not find tom yum paste or keffir lime leaves so I used hot sauce and lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoseH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Family all enjoyed this soup - Very easy to make after getting a couple items(tom yom paste,lemongrass & straw mushrooms) from local Asian market - The tom yum paste is great - used twice the amount recipe called for & still added sirachi sauce at table since we all like spicy - also used extra mushrooms - was even better reheated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullfrog270

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stirring up Trouble
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This is a super easy and quick recipe. The only thing that might be time consuming is shopping for the Kaffir lime leaves, Tom Yum paste and Lemon Grass if you live in a rural area without access to an Asian store. The ONLY reason I am not giving this soup 5 stars is because a traditional Tom Yum Goong soup doesn't use chicken stock which is more of a Western culture thing. However, Steve didn't call it Tom Yum Goong soup did he? Ok, my bad, giving it 5 stars! Thank you for a great recipe! (tip: using shrimp works really well too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Easy and delicious! I always get hot & sour chicken soup from the local Thai restaurant when i have a cold- this is just as good (maybe even better) and much cheaper. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I only made a couple minor changes. I thought there needed to be more "broth to chicken" ratio..I added an extra cup of water and one chicken breast instead of two.Lacking the limes leaves I also used lime zest. The poster that put it in a tea ball...that was a great idea! The one hing Ifound though is not to leave the lime zest in very long. Short time = flavor. Too long = bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This soup was awesome!!! I only had 1/2 the amount of lemon grass stalks and only dried coriander leaves and it was still fantastic. I also added some diced tomatoes to finish it off. I would make this over and over. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walker, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is a yummy soup! I found a fresh frozen finely chopped lemon grass in the oriental store that I keep handy all the time. I make a big batch of this soup and freeze it in individual containers. I just pop it in the microwave every time I crave for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I'macooknotabaker!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Soooooo good! And I can't believe how fast and easy it was. This is a definite keeper for me. My changes: used zest of 1 lime (in a tea ball so I could remove) instead of kaffir lime leaves, used half the chicken per another review, and added 4 slices ginger and canned straw mushrooms to make it like my local Thair restaurant. I love the broth so next time I will keep the chicken and mushroom amounts the same but make 1 1/2 times the amount of broth. Also, I'm storing the leftovers with the cilantro (coriander) and basil kept separately so I can add it fresh with every bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Excellent soup, I've been using this recipe for a while, when to the local thai food restaurant, which tasted the same as this recipe but a little sweeter, so I added 1 tablespoon of maple syrup, now it's a 5 star. Mind you I did double the recipe, so you might want to put less. Also I put half of the chicken required, otherwise it's too much. thank for this great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Damrite

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States