Thai Hot and Sour Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
Excellent and authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
I have used this same recipe for two years now and it is the best. I have not used basil or coriander with it though but I will try it next time. Refreshing with the lemongrass and sinfully spicy. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Morris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This turned out great the first time! Next time I'll tweak by adding more mushrooms and going a little lighter on the fresh herbs. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Delicious! What a great flavor. We used lime zest insetad of kaffir lime leaves (couldn't find them), and it was easy and awesome. Next time, we will cut chicken in half and add shrimp. Probably would serve 4 as a first course easily, but 6 is a stretch. All in all, a keeper that we will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
YUM! I used canned straw mushrooms and had to leave out the green chile (had none). I also left out the chicken because i was making this a starter. Had I followed this exactly it would be 6 stars. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Soooooo good! And I can't believe how fast and easy it was. This is a definite keeper for me. My changes: used zest of 1 lime (in a tea ball so I could remove) instead of kaffir lime leaves, used half the chicken per another review, and added 4 slices ginger and canned straw mushrooms to make it like my local Thair restaurant. I love the broth so next time I will keep the chicken and mushroom amounts the same but make 1 1/2 times the amount of broth. Also, I'm storing the leftovers with the cilantro (coriander) and basil kept separately so I can add it fresh with every bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
mmmmm...YUMMY! Tastes like the Tom Yum at the Thai Restaurant that will charge you 4 bucks for a small bowl full. I was impressed, not that difficult either. I used low sodium canned chicken broth and substitued tofu instead of chicken and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morristown, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hiroshima, Hiroshima, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is a yummy soup! I found a fresh frozen finely chopped lemon grass in the oriental store that I keep handy all the time. I make a big batch of this soup and freeze it in individual containers. I just pop it in the microwave every time I crave for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I'macooknotabaker!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This is really close to the restaurant style tum yum soup that I love. Thank you! I have been looking for this recipe for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Excellent soup, I've been using this recipe for a while, when to the local thai food restaurant, which tasted the same as this recipe but a little sweeter, so I added 1 tablespoon of maple syrup, now it's a 5 star. Mind you I did double the recipe, so you might want to put less. Also I put half of the chicken required, otherwise it's too much. thank for this great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Damrite

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States