Thai Hot and Sour Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Very very good base, perhaps not as hot as the Thai restaurant versions I am used to. For more heat, I add one more teaspoon of tom yum, an extra cup of stock, and two ginger slices. And put sliced chicken in stock to cook. (I also omit the greenery.) Great soup for snoy weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This was very good, much like you would get at a Thai Resturant....I had to add some red pepper flakes, because it wasn't quite spicy for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This tastes just like the one I get in Thai restaurants. I made a vegetarian batch for my mom using vegetable broth and vegetarian fish sauce (in your asian market) and it turned out great if not better than the meat version. I didn't have to use the chiles since the tom yum paste is plenty spicy for me. I cut my lemon grass into thirds and used the back of a knife to break it and release the flavors in the soup. Next time I will try using the actual kaffir lime juice and add more things like canned baby corn, bamboo shoots, and tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fenglinh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I tried a lot of recipes before I discovered this one. A Thai woman told me that it tastes just like the Tom Yum that she used to have in Thailand! You can find the Tom Yum paste in Asian grocery stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Kept to the recipe, but used Tofu instead of meat suggested. Really good. Have made it twice within 2weeks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
The recipe was pretty good and authentic. I added some scallops when I made it. I always prefer seafood flovor for this Thai soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaoMao

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This is really close to the restaurant style tum yum soup that I love. Thank you! I have been looking for this recipe for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
YUM! I used canned straw mushrooms and had to leave out the green chile (had none). I also left out the chicken because i was making this a starter. Had I followed this exactly it would be 6 stars. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
It had good flavor, but was a little leafy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States