Texas Caviar I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2001
Excellent recipe! Will be a New Years Day must! Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2001
I'm only 14,but I have learned to cook from the best.The best being my family.I love this recipie!It really isn't that diffcult either.I was making it once and my family thought it look like a whole bunch of moosh,but with one bite everyone loved it!Even my brothers and they are very picky about what they eat!I give this recipie 5 stars!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2001
This was a VERY good recipe and I will definitely make it again. I tasted it before and after I added the cilantro and I liked it better without (even though I love cilantro). I will either leave it out next time or at least cut back on the amount it calls for because it really over-powered the rest of the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
Absolutely delicious! Once you start eating it, you can't stop. It is very good with the new "scoop" type tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
I made a variation of this recipe for an office party, and it was a huge hit. I used black beans, blackeyed peas, picante beans, white navy beans, and regular navy beans. I also added shoepeg corn and used 4 jalapenos instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
There must be a misprint in the way the recipe is written. It says (correctly) that it makes 8 cups. But then it says that it makes 64 servings. That's a one ounce serving! Most people will want more than that! Just keep it in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Excellent, but like other suggest, cut the dressing by one-half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
We have a lot of poker parties and this is always a big hit. Our friends are actually dissappointed when I choose to make something else. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
This is excellent-can't get enough! To make a little easier I used a can of petit diced tomatoes with jalepenos and I didn't have any coriander but it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This makes a LOT of dip! Make sure it is a big party! It was really good though. We had to take it to our New Year's Eve party in the trunk though because the smell will knock you over. I think a little bit of lime juice would add something. I didn't use the coriander either and I don't think we missed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States