Texas Caviar I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This was delicious! Made it exactly as the recipe stated. It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Great recipe. I couldn't find canned black eyed peas so I used a 2nd can of black beans. I also added a can of corn for color and crunch. The fresh cilantro makes this recipe so fresh and tasty. It makes a ton so I used the leftovers for dinner the next night in a tortilla with chicken. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This was quite tasty. With that being said I had to sub ingredients for very similar ones I had in the house. I also did a half a recipe but kept the amount of beans the same as the full recipe and used low-sodium ones. I didn't have a green pepper but had yellow and used that. It gave it a nice sweet after taste, so I guess that was a good substitution. I left out the jalepeno because I don't like dishes too hot, but it still had a slight kick to it anyway. I had black beans for the recipe, but no black eyed peas, so I used pinto beans in place of them. I used a regular tomato in place of the cherry tomatoes and I didn't have cilantro so I left the garnish off. Regardless, of any changes I made out of convenience, it went really well with baked corn chips and there was no complaints. The only downside is it didn't refridgerate to well, I thought, so I would only make what would be eaten that day. It is best fresh in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Too hot to cook -- well I prepared this for a bbq last night, placed it in a beautiful glass salad bowl served with a fancy assortment of tortilla chips and whamoo! friends went nuts! This is a five star, refreshing, divine dish! Thanks so much from someone who cooks for a living and is always expected to impress with unique and wonderful creations. BTW red onions made it especially pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Very good! I skipped the black beans (because I don't like them) and added a can of mexi-corn instead. It makes a lot but tastes good for a couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcola, Illinois, USA
Living In: Greenup, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I make this all of the time and it is never a failure. Great recipe and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
The whole family loves this, especially my boyfriends son (3rd grade) who took it to his class and shared it with them, they also loved it. I like to add a bit of chopped olives and a can of corn just for color and to mellow the somewhat acidic taste (and feel) of the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Very Good. Made with fat free zesty italian dressing. I do like the olive oil and sugar version of this recipe better but this is much healthier and only 2 WW points for 1/2 cup portion! (with no-fat dressing)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jho2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Huge hit at our backyard bbq this weekend. I added corn to the recipe and also served avocado chunks on the side. YUM! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This recipe is delicious! I added a can of corn for more color and flavor and that was the only change I made. Everyone loved this recipe. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States