Texas Caviar I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Good, simple, do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I used a red onion for some sweetness, substituted corn for the black eyed peas and added avacado. I like this recipe. It is easy to tweek to fit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This is SOO yummy! Perfect for a nice summer day! I plan on making this all the time. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This was delicious! Made it exactly as the recipe stated. It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Great recipe. I couldn't find canned black eyed peas so I used a 2nd can of black beans. I also added a can of corn for color and crunch. The fresh cilantro makes this recipe so fresh and tasty. It makes a ton so I used the leftovers for dinner the next night in a tortilla with chicken. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This was quite tasty. With that being said I had to sub ingredients for very similar ones I had in the house. I also did a half a recipe but kept the amount of beans the same as the full recipe and used low-sodium ones. I didn't have a green pepper but had yellow and used that. It gave it a nice sweet after taste, so I guess that was a good substitution. I left out the jalepeno because I don't like dishes too hot, but it still had a slight kick to it anyway. I had black beans for the recipe, but no black eyed peas, so I used pinto beans in place of them. I used a regular tomato in place of the cherry tomatoes and I didn't have cilantro so I left the garnish off. Regardless, of any changes I made out of convenience, it went really well with baked corn chips and there was no complaints. The only downside is it didn't refridgerate to well, I thought, so I would only make what would be eaten that day. It is best fresh in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Too hot to cook -- well I prepared this for a bbq last night, placed it in a beautiful glass salad bowl served with a fancy assortment of tortilla chips and whamoo! friends went nuts! This is a five star, refreshing, divine dish! Thanks so much from someone who cooks for a living and is always expected to impress with unique and wonderful creations. BTW red onions made it especially pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Very good! I skipped the black beans (because I don't like them) and added a can of mexi-corn instead. It makes a lot but tastes good for a couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcola, Illinois, USA
Living In: Greenup, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I make this all of the time and it is never a failure. Great recipe and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
The whole family loves this, especially my boyfriends son (3rd grade) who took it to his class and shared it with them, they also loved it. I like to add a bit of chopped olives and a can of corn just for color and to mellow the somewhat acidic taste (and feel) of the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States