Texas Caviar I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
This dip is REALLY GOOD! Only used half the bottle of salad dressing. I meant to add the tomatoes right before serving, but forgot. Still turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conyers, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Awesome recipe! My 2 year old toddler and meat and potatoes husband both loved it. Instead of Italian dressing I used 1/2 bottle of New man's Own Light Lime Vinagerrete and I added 1 avocado. Delicious as a side dish, a dip with tortilla chips, or atop mixed greens for a hearty salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I added corn like others have but also added black olives to give it some depth. Did NOT put in the italian dressing but instead added an olive oil vinaigrette with blue cheese. I also doubled the Jalapenos but overall followed the recipe fairly closely. I made it a second time and used Olive oil with Balsamic dressing..was ready same day otherwise it needs to set up over night. Great base recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by arich04
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Sadly I had a cold and could barely taste it, but almost everyone at the party absolutely loved it and kept going back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I didn't have quite as much bell pepper(s) as the recipe called for, but I added corn to make up for it. Was wonderful! A lot of it got eaten at the party, and the leftovers made for GREAT hangover food;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tammybrown781
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Made this treat during the holidays...at first my family was hesitant because it was new...by the end of the night they were asking for the recipe!! It was easy to make and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Such a fresh tasting dip and one that feels healthy. I used a combo of red and green peppers, omitted one of the jalapenos, and omitted the cilantro because no one in my family except for me likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I add cucumbers, red,yellow and green peppers, white and yellow corn, black olives and garbonzo beans. I also cut up my cherry tomatoes. I love all the different flavovs this recipe provides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I love this-- especially in the summer when we have fresh bell peppers, jal peppers , and cherry tomatoes. when I am making this in a hurry for a get together-- i cheat my using two small cans of green chile rotele, which gives a little spice, but no too much for those who like milder dishes. D.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Brought this to a baby shower and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States