Tasty Lentil Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Fantastic. We have been experimenting lately with new recipes - not really being vegetarian, but making an effort to increase our consumption of alternative proteins and vegetables. Being somewhat more traditional eaters, we aren't ready to go straight for the tofu or eat completely different types of foods. I have had so much fun making traditional foods with alternative ingredients. This recipe is PERFECT for that! I actually turned it into taco salad instead of tacos, but it's the same idea. Great texture (better than ground beef, I think) - not at all mushy. The lentils both bind to AND separate from one another like ground beef, making this a better taco "meat" than beans. The flavor is fantastic. I took the leftovers to work, and several people commented on how wonderful it smelled. Conclusion: SO GOOD that even meat and potatoes eaters won't be fazed by the absense of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
We just loved this recipe. I did make these changes: 1) The addition of sliced black olives to the toppings made available 2) Whole wheat tortillas instead of taco shells. The result was more of a "wrap" than a traditional taco. 3) No sour cream 4) Cooked the lentil mixture 10 minutes more than the recipe called for. They just weren't soft enough after the original time. The results were fabulous! We'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Oh my, oh my! These were fantastic!! I don't even like lentils that well. It had a similar texture to beef (I cooked the lentils only until chewable but not mushy) and great flavor. ***I love taco shells, but for this recipe everyone did prefer whole wheat tortillas to the taco shells, though, after tasting both ways.*** Anyway, the hubby AND the kids were pleased. Low fat and high protein! Whoo Hoo! I may never make regular taco meat again =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
A taco tip that has never been better than for this recipe...I use whole romaine leaves for the lettuce in tacos. Hold leaf in hand, add fillings, then fold and set into taco shell. Works especially well with flat bottomed hard shells. Even after your shell breaks the lettuce helps hold your filling all together. Also keeps shell from getting soggy. This recipe is worthy of the glowing reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Very tasty! I made these into tostadas with oven-crisped corn tortillas, refried black beans, the lentils (made with veggie stock to be vegetarian), lettuce, tomato, onion, cheese and sour cream. Avocado and olive would be tasty additions, too. The lentils were really flavorful and tender, and my whole family enjoyed them. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
These really are as good as people say they are. My husband was pretty skeptical when I told him about lentils for dinner... He couldn't really tell the difference between chicken tacos and these. What a great healthy substitute! Definitely will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Do you know what? It was my daughter's birthday just a few days ago and she wanted to eat out but we couldn't because it rained so I made the tacos, cake, and homemade icecream and she said that she wanted me to make the tacos for all of her birthdays. I thought that this was wonderful. And I had all of the ingredients in my pantry too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This is a great idea. I used the lentils on a tostada, w/ lettuce tomatoes, cheese and a chpotle crema (just stir in the adobo from a can of chipotles in sour cream) Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
These were fantastic - I made them with the homemade taco seasoning and with a kosher (no actual meat additives) beef stock cube. I will be making these regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Great recipe! In my quest to put a few meatless meals on my table throughout the week, these lentils have become a hit, and noone seems to miss the regular taco meat when I substitute this in its place in my taco salad. Tasty and healthy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 529) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States