Tasty Lentil Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
OK - I contemplated making this recipe forever and with great skepticism! I even cooked the traditional taco meat alongside this as a back up plan. However, I am here to say that this really IS a wonderful alternative to traditional tacos! IMHO it does not taste like traditional tacos, as it has a taste all its own - one I personally think I like better! It was also very easy to make. Thanks for sharing this great recipe, Michelle Thomas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
The lentils had a great taco flavor, but I had to cook them for 40 additional minutes to get them to be tender and not too liquidy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This was so good! I saved and printed the recipe for my Dad with ideas of trying it myself. Left the recipe laying in his recipe zone, (kitchen desk--big surprise) He instructed me to buy the ingredients because he wanted to try it. Totally chompy! We did a couple of things different. Used one reduced sodium can of chicken broth and added water for the rest of moisture requirement. Couldn't find salsa at the discount store so grabbed a 10 oz. can of Rotel tomatoes with green chiles. As per prior review, we cooked the lentils 40 minutes. (Also higher altitude requires longer cook time for legumes. Can't wait to make this for my meat eating guy. This recipe is so healthy and so yummy. Wait, forgot to compare the price of hamburger lately. Lentils really do give a good texture and flavor to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I made the lentil filling from this recipe. I thought 1Tbsp of chili powder sounded like too much, so I used 1/2T, and the results were still much too spicy. Also, the 2.5 cups broth (I used veggie broth as I wanted vegetarian taco filling) evaporated before the lentils were tender and I had to add extra water and continue cooking (I did have the pot covered). I would choose another recipe for lentil tacos or just come up with one on your own as the ratio of ingredients on this recipe seem to be very off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I followed the directions to a T and really like this alternative to beef tacos. Since no one else in my family is interested in expanding their taco experience... I get to enjoy the leftovers on nachos the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Very good! Used vegetarian broth instead of the chicken. For toppings I also had sliced black olives, onion, plain yogurt instead of sour cream. Oh, and blue corn taco shells - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I love tacos but will not eat beef. This is an awsome substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
LOVED THEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
So good and much cheaper than buying veggie ground round. I served it with homemade guacamole. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
These tacos are fantastic. I admit I was skeptical at first but my daughter assured me they were good and she was correct. My husband and I cannot seem to stop eating them once we start. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 529) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States