Tasty Lentil Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
We love these! They take longer to cook though. Maybe, we like them mushier rather than al dente. I add a lot more garlic and my own blend of Taco Seasoning. I also added some chopped up roasted hatch green chilies for more flavor. Easy, good dinner! With the leftovers I'll grill up some chicken & have soft chicken tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
WOW! We were having friends over for a taco dinner and since I'm a vegeterian, I was looking for an alternative to tofu crumbles, which I really don't like. These were soooo delicious! My meat eater friends even tried these and thought they were delicious as well. I followed this recipe exactly and will never use fake, processed meat again for tacos or fajitas. Now if I can only find a good substitute for bacon....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valdproctor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I didn't change a thing! So quick, so easy, so cheap and SO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Excellent flavor! We served with brown rice in addition to shells and tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I'm a meat eater all the way, but these were FANTASTIC!! I don't ever think about tacos for breakfast (ew!) but let me tell you, I'm craving these right now! We made it as written but omitting the salsa (didn't need it mixed in, we added it afterwards on top of the tacos), and added avocado. LOVE these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I've made this twice now, and it has been a hit! Today I made the lentil/salsa mixture with veg. broth and then made them into cheeseless enchiladas topped with enchilada sauce, green onions, and olives. Baked it and then added chopped fresh tomatoes. They turned out excellent. Didn't miss the meat or cheese! This recipe is very versatile and will definitley be a staple in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susierunner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
awesome! I quadrupled to use my 2 lb bag of lentils and to freeze the leftovers for Mexican Lasagna. I used 2 large onions, 4 stalks celery, 4 carrots, 4 tsps minced garlic, 4 tsps home made taco seasoning, 4 tsps chili powder, 4 tsps oregano, 2 tsps black pepper, 1 bay leaf, 9 cups vegetable stock, 1 can of Rotel and tomato sauce to make the right consistency after I mashed with my immersion blender. I simmered for 30 minutes, stirred and added more stock, simmered for another 30, removed bay leaf and mashed, let cool slightly then added tomato sauce as need, about 1/2 cup. My kids loved these, my youngest son is 8 and had 3! I used whole wheat flour tortillas our personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
These were fantastic. I added about an extra cup of chicken brother though. 2 small cans of broth is the perfect amount for these. I loved the flavor and I prefer this over regular taco meat filling. It was REALLY easy to make. These will definitely be a regular part of our menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
it was almost perfect. i added a dash of salt next time i will cook them a touch longer. i cooked them, covered, for 27 minutes. next time i might go for a touch over 30
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Great recipe. Received immediate induction into the weekday dinner rotation. My family loves meat and these were a hit with the kids (ages 3 and 6) and the hubby. I added plain yogurt which I mixed right into the lentils. I also added a little cayenne pepper for me and my husband for extra kick. Cheap, healthy and most importantly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 529) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States