Tasty Lentil Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
outstanding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
We enjoyed this recipe. Even my husband who is sure it isn't really a meal without meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
These are really good! I'm glad I finally tried them, I kept putting them on my menu and then not making them. They were worth the wait but I won't be waiting so long to make them a second time :) I used canned lentils so I added just a bit of broth to wet them (and used beef broth because I had an open carton). I added less salsa as well. Kept the seasoning and toppings the same. Really delicious, was like eating a refried bean taco but healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I would allow for twice the amount of cooking time for the lentils to soften. Also, ours turned out really salty- most likely because I had substituted the chicken broth with chicken bouillon- but that is usually not a problem. It was tasty, just a bit inconvenient with the cooking time an then the saltiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
These are so good! I recently became a vegan and have been trying different recipes. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken (obviously). My husband (vegetaria) loved them. He said that they were his favorite thing that I've made since changing to vegan. One small thing though, this was seriously lacking salt. With that addition, they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Super yummy! Followed the recipe for the filling exactly. We used tortillas instead of taco shells. And the only toppings we used were cheese and a homemade cabbage salsa. Mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Incredible!! What an awesome, healthy substitute. You could hardly tell the difference between these and ground beef tacos. They turned out great. Everyone liked them. I had to quadruple the recipe to feed our family, and they still wanted more!! I had soaked my lentils overnight so I cut the amount of chicken broth almost in half. I also just put the salsa on top of the tacos instead of adding to the lentils. We had this on corn tortillas with cabbage, onion, cilantro, and lemon. Will definitely make again!! Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
The first time I made this the lentils were so delicious before adding salsa that I left it out. I've made this several times now and in addition to omiting the salsa I recommend adding extra garlic, a tsp of taco seasoning, and cutting the chili powder to 1tsp (not because it's too spicy, but because it tends to dominate the flavor). This makes for a great taco salad. I've also made this with split peas instead of lentils (just add 15-20 minutes cooking time). This recipe is soooooooo good. It pleases my carnivor's palate and also my health-nut fiance's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
These were great. After a few bites I didn't even miss meat! Definitely going into the "use again" file! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
My kids are raging carnivores but when we have lentil tacos they become lentilvores! Despite 478 reviews, I was still skeptical, but the recipe won us over on the first try. I kept the salsa separate rather than mixing it in. And I used water instead of broth and just upped the onion, garlic and spices a little. The recipe does not call for salt or pepper but I added some to taste once the lentils were cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TFRach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 529) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States