Tartar Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
EXCELLENT! Of course you can change it up to suit your tastes, but this is a thousand times better than anything bottled; as far as a basic tartar sauce goes. I've made this numerous times; by adding fresh parsley from my garden, outstanding! Any fresh herb goes very well to change up the flavor since we eat fish a lot. Surprise your tastebuds. Even great with curry powder; go on experiment with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I give this recipe two stars it was weird tasting, and I had to change the recipe to get it to taste good. Would be better with less lemon juice one tbs. instead of two. I also added pepper, cayenne, and capers! This way it was a lot better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
This is a great and easy tartar sauce recipe. I followed the recipe (including the lemon) but wanted a little more bite to it so I added about a tablespoon of minced capers and let it sit for a couple of hours. So yummy! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I wasn't sure just by tasting this after it sat for awhile, since it does not have the 'tartar sauce flavor' I was used to from a jar, but this was EXCELLENT with the Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Really loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I made this to go with the fish we had for dinner & got rave reviews. BUT, I changed it a bit. I made 1/2 the amount with real mayo. I added dry minced onions, 2 teaspoons of bread & butter pickle relish that I had drained on a paper towel, salt & pepper, a little lemon juice, then called my "taster" in. It had no kick, he said. He rejected more lemon juice, said it needed more tart. I added about a teaspoon (I didn't measure, he tasted) of apple cider vinegar. That was perfect for both my son, the taster & my husband, who also advised he wants more fish so he can have that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Easy and delicious! If you're too close to serving time to wait for minced onion, try powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This is a really good recipe. Now if you're in a pinch and can't wait one hour for the minced onions to soften and flavor the sauce, use 2 teaspoons of onion powder for instant results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Much better than store bought and I like that I can make a smaller amount when that's all I need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
For a half batch, I keep the relish and onion the same and add 1/4 tsp dried dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tartar Sauce I

Homemade tartar sauce is perfect for dipping fried fish.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Chef John's Remoulade 2.0

Not just for fish sticks anymore! This easy ‘tarter sauce’ is super versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States