Tartar Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Bo  Zack
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I added a pinch of sugar and watched the fish sticks disappear
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bo  Zack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
I had a jar of Miracle Whip already opened so I used that. It does give it an extra tang, too. I used dill pickle juice in place of the lemon juice and added a bit of garlic powder and black pepper. It's great when you can pull something like this together with ingredients you have at home, not to mention it's better than the store-bought stuff! Thanks Diane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This is a base recipe but I believe the following to be best: -One cup of mayo -2 Tablespoons of chopped deli pickle or dill relish as a back-up -2 Tablespoons of chopped capers - a Teaspoon of white vinegar - fresh juice squeezed from half a lemon Mel B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
My beloved Uncle Dick Taylor was a head chef at Bess Eiler's in Santa Monica, CA in the 50's. As a new bride he gave me this recipe for tarter sauce. It IS the BEST. Dill pickle relish can also be used or a combo of both sweet & dill depending on your taste preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joydee Mccorkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Wasn't a big fan of the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Derby, Kansas, USA
Living In: Rose Hill, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
its the bomb for how simple it was to make...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Famous-Guy
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
It's even better if you use dill pickle relish instead of sweet pickle relish. I never buy tarter sauce because homemade is so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Boring and didn't like the sweet relish, had to start over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdg78

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sun City West, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
While this is good, I prefer to add as well a tablesp. of chopped capers and a tsp of dried tarragon to it as well, to get that real gourmet tartar sauce flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thorunn Sleight
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
tartar always needs a dash of worchestershire sauce AND a pinch of garlic powder on top of all the other changes people can dream up ;/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 616) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tartar Sauce I

Homemade tartar sauce is perfect for dipping fried fish.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Chef John's Remoulade 2.0

Not just for fish sticks anymore! This easy ‘tarter sauce’ is super versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States