Tartar Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I don't buy tarter sauce at the store anymore after finding this one on the Internet! So easy to make it fresh, and a lot cheaper when you factor in the price of ingredients. I added 1 tsp of dill weed and modified the onion to use 2 large minced green onions (including the white). As for the citrus, I either use Meyer Lemon from my tree, or have used Lime Juice in the past. These additions give it an intense flavor with all sorts of layers, and not just some white stuff that goes on fish. Used it in a ham sandwich last week. Was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robertjm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
do we hv to make this sweet pickle of the relish or just use the sweet relish as is pls? i am waiting to try this recipe........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Best tarter sauce I ever had! Blows away any restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
A good basic recipe. Not only do I use this for tartar sauce, I add ketchup and use it as a version of thousand island dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandynork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I am so happy to have found this recipe! I've been making my own tartar sauce for years, and while it was good, it wasn't what I found in excellent seafood restaurants. However, this tartar sauce is exactly what I've been looking for! It is the addition of the onion that really puts it over the top for me. I grate mine finely. I do not use the full amount of lemon juice, but I do use a squirt, and I always add a little Old Bay for extra oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I enjoyed this recipe, but kicked it up a bit with chopped capers as well as the relish. When I haven't had relish I just chop up dill pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Super easy recipe that is super tasty. I won't buy jarred tartar sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This is excellent tartar sauce. I like how you can adjust the recipe for amount of servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
DE-LICIOUS! This is such a simple and great tartar sauce to use. We will never buy tartar sauce again! Of COURSE, I made a couple easy changes. 2 tbsp of sweet pickle relish and 1 tbsp of lime juice (instead of 2 of lemon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sogood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Tartar Sauce I

Homemade tartar sauce is perfect for dipping fried fish.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Chef John's Remoulade 2.0

Not just for fish sticks anymore! This easy ‘tarter sauce’ is super versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States