Sweet Tamarind Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Delicious! I substituted onion powder for the asafoetida, and everyone still thought it was as tasty as any they'd had in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
i had to add some cornstarch at the end because it wouldn't thicken, maybe i put in too much water, but the end result was great. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
OMG!!!! YUMMY!!! was looking for "stuff" to put this on while it was cooling! I had a tamarind "block" so I probably used twice as much tamarind as the recipe calls for. Tangy, sweet, spicy- perfect: had it with onion pakora's as a start to our Indian meal. Of Note: recipe states makes 1 & 1/4 cups of chutney. Cook it down to this point and you wont need any cornstarch or such. Also use the cold plate method to check for consistency. Simply put a saucer in the fridge, when you think your sauce is done, put a small amount (1/4 t.) on the cold plate and place back in fridge. Wait a minute and check. If it is how you like it, pull from the heat or cook longer. Thanks for a simple recipe addition to my Indian arsenal, one more sauce I will never have to buy again. PS: Tamarind is a popular ingredient in Mexican cooking. Try those grocery stores for it. Hing or Asafoetida is an Indian staple, if you can't find it add a 1/4 t of garlic powder as a sub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Delicious! It was a tad sweet for my husband. I added some apricots because I didn't have enough tamarind. I also blended everything at the end to mince the spices. Do you use whole or powdered spices? I used some whole and some powdered depending on what I had. I also had to thicken it with cornstarch as it didn't seem to want to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Omg this is so good, there really is no sub for tamarind paste. No need for the cornstarch like some ppl said. Made ths with samosas and will definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Wow, this was the best tamarind chutney ever!! Though not as easy as cilantro chutney, it's well worth it. I used olive oil instead of canola (it's what I had), and I made sure to heat the spices in the oil for long enough to really smell all of those spices. If you add the water too soon, you'll lose some of the flavor. I used onion powder in place of the asofe...(spice I can't even spell). Like some of the other reviews mentioned, I couldn't get the sauce thick enough without a little cornstarch. I actually simmered it for about an hour to reduce it, but still ended up adding a little cornstarch (teaspoon dissolved in hot water?), which made it a perfect consistency. Seriously, you can't buy stuff this good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I read this recipe and was scared that it wont thicken as mentioned by other reviewers. It did happen! But I must say that patience is all you need. After cooking for 1 hr , hoping for it to thicken, I kept it in refrigerator. Unexpectedly, it thicken quite well, actually little more than needed. The final flavor is awesome. I served it with Pakoras, and all guests enjoyed it. They even thought I brought it from a store! Thats a compliment you're always looking for, right?! I did cook the spices long enough to let the flavor come out. Overall, super 5 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Really good! Like some others, I had to add a bit of flour to thicken it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I REALLY loved this recipe. The tamarind can be found at most Asian food markets and I mix my own garam masala it is very simple to do yourself. I did not use the asafoetida, it is not important. I like that this really is to taste so if you want it hot add more pepper, or sweet add more sugar. This is my third time making it and it is perfect! Mine comes out perfect, if yours is too thin after 15 min you may not have added enough tamarind. You can always just add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Living In: Indian Head, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
So good! Only step I would add, which is not really necessary but makes it more like most restaurants, is to strain the seeds out at the end. This is my favorite dip/sauce at the Indian restaurant we go to. I did let it cook on the stove for probably like two hours while I was making other food. Then when it was poured into a bowl I put it in the fridge until we wanted to eat it - ultimately was only room temperature at that time, though. As of this writing, it didn't thicken as much as maybe some people want it too? but it is exactly like what I eat in Indian restaurants, usually served with a small spoon to pour some onto a papadum. Spoon it onto something and mmm delicious. But, if you wanted to get that tamarind flavor on other kinds of food, where spooning is not so convenient, maybe do some of the usual tricks to thicken it a little more. It made just about spot on the amount it said it would, which is a LOT, glad to have extra though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Florida, USA
Living In: Superior, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States