Sweet Tamarind Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Delicious! I substituted onion powder for the asafoetida, and everyone still thought it was as tasty as any they'd had in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
i had to add some cornstarch at the end because it wouldn't thicken, maybe i put in too much water, but the end result was great. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
This recipe was pretty good... I did add about a tablespoon of cornstarch and water since it didn't thicken for me at all after the 20-30 min. When cooled it was just the consistency of the tamarind chutney at the restaurants. I also added one star anise, broken up, an ingredient I saw in another tamarind recipe and I thought it enhanced the flavor. I added it at the end with the cornstarch after taste testing and thinking it needed something extra. Overall a great tamarind chutney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Wow, this was the best tamarind chutney ever!! Though not as easy as cilantro chutney, it's well worth it. I used olive oil instead of canola (it's what I had), and I made sure to heat the spices in the oil for long enough to really smell all of those spices. If you add the water too soon, you'll lose some of the flavor. I used onion powder in place of the asofe...(spice I can't even spell). Like some of the other reviews mentioned, I couldn't get the sauce thick enough without a little cornstarch. I actually simmered it for about an hour to reduce it, but still ended up adding a little cornstarch (teaspoon dissolved in hot water?), which made it a perfect consistency. Seriously, you can't buy stuff this good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Not bad, but not great. Did not thicken after one hour, still, like others, had to add one tablespoon of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
We did not care for this recipe. It was way too sweet and way too spicy. It did not thicken. The worst was the flavor though...not at all authentic to any Indian foods and flavors we have eaten. All we could taste was sugar and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This recipe was very good. We really liked the sweet and spicy. It did not thicken very well and next time I will use a bit of cornstarch too but the flavor was great. I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
DO NOT heat your oil over medium- go a little lower. I can't describe exactly what happened when the spices hit the oil, but I can tell you that it felt like my lungs had collapsed. My kids literally ran screaming from the kitchen and I finished cooking with a dish towel over my nose and mouth. I really think the heat is too high on this because I made something similar later on at a lower temp and didn't have anything like this happen. I'm still giving this four stars though because this is the best tamarind chutney I've ever tasted. If you don't have access to tamarind paste (I'm talking to you, my fellow rural Iowans!) then you can make a delicious substitute using 1 tablespoon each of dried, chopped apricots, dates and prunes. Pour boiling water on them and let them soak for fifteen minutes and then drain and puree them with one tablespoon lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
OMG!!!! YUMMY!!! was looking for "stuff" to put this on while it was cooling! I had a tamarind "block" so I probably used twice as much tamarind as the recipe calls for. Tangy, sweet, spicy- perfect: had it with onion pakora's as a start to our Indian meal. Of Note: recipe states makes 1 & 1/4 cups of chutney. Cook it down to this point and you wont need any cornstarch or such. Also use the cold plate method to check for consistency. Simply put a saucer in the fridge, when you think your sauce is done, put a small amount (1/4 t.) on the cold plate and place back in fridge. Wait a minute and check. If it is how you like it, pull from the heat or cook longer. Thanks for a simple recipe addition to my Indian arsenal, one more sauce I will never have to buy again. PS: Tamarind is a popular ingredient in Mexican cooking. Try those grocery stores for it. Hing or Asafoetida is an Indian staple, if you can't find it add a 1/4 t of garlic powder as a sub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I REALLY loved this recipe. The tamarind can be found at most Asian food markets and I mix my own garam masala it is very simple to do yourself. I did not use the asafoetida, it is not important. I like that this really is to taste so if you want it hot add more pepper, or sweet add more sugar. This is my third time making it and it is perfect! Mine comes out perfect, if yours is too thin after 15 min you may not have added enough tamarind. You can always just add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Living In: Indian Head, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States