Sweet Potato Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
My friends and family absolutely love these rolls. I've made these a few times already, and the only thing I changed was to add some brown sugar and cinnamon to the sweet potatoes. They're only slightly sweet, so it complements just about any main entree. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
Very easy recipe to make. You will use more flour than needed because the dough is very sticky. The taste is wonderful. What could possibly be better than homemade rolls. I did use regular sweet potatos and not canned. It takes about 3 small ones to equal the 1-1/2cups canned. I too added some brown sugar to the potatos about 2T, next time I think I'll add about 1/4cup. My rolls were about the size of normal dinner rolls and so this recipe made 24 good size rolls for me. I would not recommend skipping the step on oiling the pan even if your pan is nonstick. It really needs the oil. This recipe has a wonderful taste. The aroma of the bread rising and baking is out of this world, but I think that on all homemade breads. I paired this with Angels Beef Stew recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
We loved these rolls and will make them every Thanksgiving from now on. My one year old could not get enough. Very moist and great flavor. I used 1/2 cup extra sweet potato (fresh).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
These rolls were so good. My three kids loved them. I made them for Christmas dinner. I used a little more flour. A wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Delaware, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
I loved these although I HATE sweet potatoes. I only used 1 cup of sweetpotato (left over from a pie I made for my fiance). He immediately sent the recipe to his mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
These were soooooo good! I made them last Thanksgiving using our leftover sweet potatoes! We made ham sandwiches on them - so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
These rolls were delicious!! I made them for Easter this year with a ham and they were gone so quickly. Although I needed to add a bit more flour, the recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
I forgot to keep the sweet potato water, but these came out great anyway, only I did some rolls and some of the dough in loaf pans. Everyone loved this bread!! Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
I am "new" in the kitchen, and this was the first bread I have ever made. It was so SIMPLE and easy and they came out GREAT. Because I made candied sweet potatoes also, I used fresh ones, and used the water that I boiled them in in this recipe. I took them for Thanksgiving, and everyone was impressed I actually made them myself! It seems I had to add a bit more flour than the recipe called for because it was too sticky but other than that they are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Bless You Sherlie, for sharing this wonderful roll recipe !!! My 3 children loved these. I made a test batch before Thanksgiving and they loved them. They even put some back for later...and they ate them as snacks and the 3 year old even wanted them for breakfast !!! My 12 year old had some friends over and she made them try them.....and then I was asked for the recipe by the girls to give to THEIR mothers !!!! Its a wonderful recipe !!! I even cheated and it was still great! I used my Kitchen Aid as the mixer and kneader and they were so light and fluffy in texture! I used fresh sweet potatoes and boiled them myself, then mashed them instead of using canned as my family isn't real big on canned foods in general. Freaks...but anyway, with using fresh sweet potatoes the color is just gorgeous! I was worried about the color turning the kids off, but it didn't. Or my husband for that matter. He devoured them as fast as the kids did ! This is now an often requested recipe at our house...& its a healthy one too! Wonderful way to get the BetaCarotene in your kids without a fight! Great recipe !! Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States