Sweet Potato Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Mixit
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Not sure what I was expecting, I wasn't really wanting an overpowering taste of sweet potato that I'm sure of. Anyway, not much of sweet potato flavor in these just kind of an odd flavor (not bad) just odd. I prefer regular potato rolls really. I might try using baked sweet potato in them sometime as others suggest maybe that would bring somewhat of a richer flavor and deeper color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
As I read through all the reviews I'm noticing one big problem - everyone is using triple the amount of sweet potato that the recipe calls for and therefore has to use more flour. If you follow the recipe, as is, with just 1/2 cup of sweet potato then flour shouldn't be an issue. I only needed 3 cups of flour for mine and they turned out soft, sweet and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I've made these dozens of times now. I do add a couple of tablespoons of gluten. (I know, but love the rise!) I also always use bread flour. Have used whole wheat flour and bread flour mix. Often put in flax seed meal. Every once and a while, I'll reduce the flour a bit and put oatmeal in for a totally different texture. Always use butter as I am not a fan of margarine at all. I've had quite a bit of fun with this recipe and love the color, taste, and texture. Follow the directions exactly (well, except for do use bread flour and real butter) and you will get a splendid roll. Then keep tweaking to your heart's content to suit your fancy. I've never had a bad tasting batch of rolls come out of this no matter what I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I put 3 stars only because my rolls came out sorta heavy and I like a more fluffier roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
these were good. but better the second time after freezing and reheating. i also probably needed to add a little more water because my rolls were pretty lumpy. i would definitely make them again to perfect my technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Forsman
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Only one word to describe these beauties.DIVINE. :) Thanks so much for the new family favorite Sherlie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Forsman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
The consitency of the rolls were good, and they looked nice. However, there wasn't much flavor to these rolls. After making them as the recipe called, I wished I had taken heed to some of the reviews and made alterations to the recipe. I definitely didn't taste the sweet potato, but overall the recipe is just OK to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Nice and moist with a hint of sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Very pretty to look at but not a lot of flavor. I used olive oil, maybe that was my mistake, would recommend using regular veg. oil instead. Probably wont try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belinda Guzman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madera, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Made these because I had leftover fresh yams from thanksgiving. I didn't have a problem with the sticky dough; I thought it was so easy to work with but the results were bland and a bit dense. The extra star is for the beautiful color! Since I love how the color turned, I might use my favorite cinnamon roll and incorporate it with sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States