Sweet Potato Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This is a very easy to make and delicious biscuit and I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
these were light and fluffy, but the taste was not good. They were too heavy on the salt and baking powder flavor wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
The recipe should call for fresh baked sweet potato instead of canned. I used canned because that is what I had on hand and I believe that the water/liquid in the canned ones cause the biscuits not to rise properly. I think that a fresh sweet potato would make a world of difference. I will try it again. I also added a bit of cinnamon and a little more sugar. My husband and son loved them even with the mishap, they just didn't know what to call them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I liked them, but I was the only one in the family who did. I found that they worked well as drop biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I agree with others that the recipe calls for too much salt. I used a scant 1/2 teaspoon and it was still a little too much. Other than that, I really liked these and will make them again. I was out of sugar and used honey and used soy milk instead of dairy milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Except for measuring the yams and milk ( I probably added a cup of yams and just enough milk to make drop biscuits) , I made these biscuits as listed and they were delicious. I would cook extra yams just to make this recipe a few days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiquita632000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
We really liked our adapted version of these. They were quick, easy, and nutritious! After reading several reviews, I cut back the salt to a scant 1/2 teaspoon and that was for a double batch! I added 2 teaspoons of white sugar, 2 tablespoons of brown sugar, 2 teaspoons of cinnamon, and used 1/2 cup of butter instead of shortening. It took just about 1/3 cup of milk to make the dough hold together. We made them into drop biscuits to save time, and sprinkled brown sugar on top before baking. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
SWEET POTATO SCONES That would be the appopriate title, but maybe fewer people would try them. But if the title was right, fewer would expect them to rise like Grands fluffy biscuits. Okay, I really dont like when people change recipes then rate them on the 'new' recipe - but here goes. I used 1 cp + a lil bit more of flour. Used almost 1/2 stick of butter (no shortening) added 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder (per other reviews) and a lil baking soda. I put a little vanilla in half the batch. I also only used 2-3 teaspoons of milk. I didnt go thru the final step, putting the dough on the flour. I just mixed the dough with my hands and pinched out the 'biscuits' and molded them in my hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
These were average at best. Maybe even a little below average. I could taste nothing but the salt in these biscuits. Did not taste the sweet potato in the biscuits at all. make sure you reduce the salt if you attempt to make these and make sure they are atleast 1/2 in.or more thick before baking because these do not rise very well, if at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
These were good~~not fantastic, but good. I added extra baking powder, and used brown sugar and cinnamon to up the flavor. Served them hot with butter and drizzled honey on them as well. The consensus was that by themselves they were pretty nondescript but that the butter and honey put them over the top. I'll probably make these again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States