Sweet Potato Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
It's okay. I ended up spreading a lot of butter on top for more taste. I had to bake it for at least 35 min. Maybe the dough was too soft or they were placed on the baking sheet too thick? I might try this again. I gave it 3 stars because it requires basic ingredients and my picky husband had seconds. I might try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Amazing! So light and fluffy-- just the perfect texture. The flavor (per recipe without modifications) is well-suited to either serve as a sweet (with a glaze topping, cream cheese, or powdered sugar) or a savory dish (on the side with soup or chili). I doubled the batch and made one pan of thinly rolled dough cut with a leaf-shape cutter-- perfect size for snacking. The second pan I made the rolls as directed. Next time I will add some more spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves) and experiment with pumpkin as well. Thanks for the awesome recipe! I look forward to using it over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
lovely, soft and light. My kids love them. I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, Ayrshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
MMMM! These were delicious home-style biscuits! I used leftover mashed sweet potatoes and carrots from Christmas dinner and they turned out beautifully! They had such a pretty golden orange color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I'm giving these biscuits 5 stars because I thought the flavor was great. I also had 3 other approvals. For some reason they didn't rise very much, maybe I didn't bake them quite long enough. I used 2 med. sized yams (or sweet potatoes) and microwaved them until they were soft. Let them cool a bit and then dug out the potato. I added 1 Tbs. of brown sugar and 1 tsp. cinnamon to the dry ingredients. I also used real butter in place of the shortening. Next time I'll try with whole wheat flour. Used honey, cinnamon butter on top. Served with beef stew and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
Flavor was good, but they definitely were not light and fluffy! So disappointing! They came out small, dense, and flat. I may try again to see if I get better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
These came out pretty good! I'm actually really pleased because I had a TON of leftover Sweet Potatoes from Thanksgiving, and just didn't feel like eating anymore potatoes! I used butter instead of shortening, and it was fine. I wound up with 9 bisquets in total. They were unbelievably quick to make. I just ate some with cream cheese spread on top...mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
This was delicious! I made it exactly as shown but doubled the recipe and added 1/2 tsp cinnamon. They would be wonderful with a little honey butter. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
Quite good. My sister hates sweet potatoes and unfortunately she saw me mashing them and then saw the biscuits were orange - she wouldn't take one. When everyone was going "mmm" though, she decided to try one, and even wanted seconds! That tells you enough about these biscuits. I wouldn't use for a sandwich; mine were quite small & puffy (only got 7) but tasty. Bit like english muffin or scone. Give 'em a go. I boiled my potatoes quite long and stirred a fair bit of cinnamon and brown sugar into the flour. Used full 1/4 c. milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
This recipe has been a staple since I discovered it a few years ago. I used it again tonight to put on top of a chicken pot pie. It got rave reviews!! I put a pecan praline glaze on the left overs and it was the perfect complement to this light fluffy biscuit. Thanks a gain for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Mott, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States