Sweet Green Bean Bundles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
great recipe. i ate a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy_rose_25

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
These were an excellent addition to a pork roast dinner I prepared a while back. They were surprisingly easy to prepare; I worried that they would fall apart in the oven, but they held together beautifully. They only got four stars instead of five because with all the fat and sugar, they really don't count as a vegetable anymore. But I'm sure they'd make a great appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Simply Awesome - I am not a veggie eater so I try to find ways to make them edible for me - I could have eaten every single one of these - the taste was amazing. I was not sure how they would turn out cuz the brown sugar and butter just wouldnt mix well and it didnt "pour" - I had to kind of spoon it on and spread it out but it baked perfectly - I used the microwave bacon and cooked them for about 20 seconds (4 slices) then wrapped - also used fresh green beans that I blanched first. I was also making the bacon ranch salad which i use turkey bacon for so i cooked up a couple extra strips and made a few with turkey bacon - those were just as good. These would be great for Thanksgiving - cant wait to impress the family with them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I made these to go with some veal marsala for company last night. I was so surprised when I took off the foil and found my beans cooked down to little skinny twigs. I used fresh slightly steamed green beans and applewood smoked bacon. They tasted good, but were disappointing. I'll try it again but precook the bacon so the oven time can be cut down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barkhamsted, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Perfect side dish for just about any roast meat. It was lovely with oven-browned pork chops and roasted potatoes. Every single bundle disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Awesome! We did this recipe on the grill... It's a definite repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Mmm... these disappeared in a hurry! I had to use beef bacon, since our family can't have pork, but I think that the flavor was still very good. I just wish I could have convinced the 5 year old to try some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Nix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blue Ridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jasper, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Soooooo good! Not only did I love this, but so did my husband, tween, and preschooler. I made the following changes: After baking 25 minutes, I took the bundles and grilled them on my gas grill for about 3 minutes on each side. I removed them, and drizzled leftover butter-sugar sauce from the earlier pan over the bundles right before serving. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I used fresh green beans and pan fried them before wrapping in bacon. Although I loved them, my husband said it took away the "greenbean taste". They were crispy on the inside, but a little wilted looking on the out. I'd do it again just for cool presentation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I've been making these every Thanksgiving for years! However, I only use fresh green beans and blanch them for a few minutes until bright green. As a more healthy alternative, I skip the butter & sugar and toss the blanched green beans with some olive oil and a touch of dijon mustard. It also helps to cook the bacon for 2 minutes in the microwave before wrapping around the green beans. This will help speed up the baking time to about 25 min and prevent the green bean from being over cooked. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States