Sweet Green Bean Bundles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I've been making this for 3 years. Here are some hints: use the canned whole green beans, use only 5 beans per bundle and wrap with a 3rd strip of bacon. Cut up a stick of butter & scatter throughout the pan after the bundles are in. Sprinkle with the brown sugar and garlic (I use garlic powder). Cover & bake for 30. Uncover and bake an additional 15. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
These were fantastic! So good, in fact, that I didn't make enough of them. Even my anti-veggies father-in-law loved them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJPurpleLover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I made these this Thanksgiving and they were a HUGE hit! I used fresh green beans that I blanched for about 3 minutes. I also cooked the bacon in the microwave for 2-3 minutes before making the bundles. I used a little more butter than suggested to get the right consistency and then baked them for 35 minutes at my house covered and once we arrived at y grandmother's I put them in the over for 15 more uncovered! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I made this dish for thanksgiving this year. It was a huge hit and a great alternative to the green bean casserole! I drained the brown sugar and butter after I cooked it. I had to travel with it and had no issues! It easily warmed up in the oven and still looked great! I'm adding this to my family menu now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karid01

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
2010-11-25 I used haricot verts instead of regular green beans. The beans were blanched for about a minute and a half and the bacon was partially cooked beforehand. I used some of the bacon grease to coat the baking pan. The beans were bundled in groups of 10. The amount of sauce seemed excessive and was very thick. I ended up microwaving the sauce before spooning it over the bundles. I cooked them for 30 minutes covered in foil then uncovered them for the last 10 minutes. They were sweeter than I prefer and would cut back on the brown sugar if I made them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was easy, nice presentation with great taste. I used frozen organic green beans. I forgot to cover mine and they came out just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
great recipe. i ate a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy_rose_25

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
These were an excellent addition to a pork roast dinner I prepared a while back. They were surprisingly easy to prepare; I worried that they would fall apart in the oven, but they held together beautifully. They only got four stars instead of five because with all the fat and sugar, they really don't count as a vegetable anymore. But I'm sure they'd make a great appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Simply Awesome - I am not a veggie eater so I try to find ways to make them edible for me - I could have eaten every single one of these - the taste was amazing. I was not sure how they would turn out cuz the brown sugar and butter just wouldnt mix well and it didnt "pour" - I had to kind of spoon it on and spread it out but it baked perfectly - I used the microwave bacon and cooked them for about 20 seconds (4 slices) then wrapped - also used fresh green beans that I blanched first. I was also making the bacon ranch salad which i use turkey bacon for so i cooked up a couple extra strips and made a few with turkey bacon - those were just as good. These would be great for Thanksgiving - cant wait to impress the family with them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Prescott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I made these to go with some veal marsala for company last night. I was so surprised when I took off the foil and found my beans cooked down to little skinny twigs. I used fresh slightly steamed green beans and applewood smoked bacon. They tasted good, but were disappointing. I'll try it again but precook the bacon so the oven time can be cut down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barkhamsted, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States